The Power Of Love

in #music6 years ago (edited)

First time I heard The Power Of Love by Frankie Goes To Hollywood, I was mesmerized. This is one of the best songs ever written, ever composed. To me the song has no religious meaning, only the message of love.

Like most of the songs I fall deeply for, at first I have to listen it over and over again so that I can get it out of my system. You know, if it requires some crying, singing with or dancing like no-ones watching, that's what I have to do before I can decide how good that song really is. And in the end, what really counts when thinking about the amazingness of a song is the fact that if I hear it again after a month, a year or a decade, it still has a strong affect on me.

An amazingly good song usually gets the kind of high status in my head, that any other version of it sucks. But yesterday I stumbled upon this one.

Gabrielle Aplin - The Power of Love

Her voice is so beautiful. Just gorgeous. This definitely is one of the second best songs I'd like to hear just before I die. If that sentence makes any sense to you. :D Find out what's my first choice.

Now let's go to an entirely different song. Same tittle but not the same song. Jennifer Rush - The Power Of Love. My opinion is that others have tried, but no-one ever reached Jennifer's level. Her voice is at the same time strong and sensitive.

Although I have to admit, this next one is a very good version of the same song.

Lexy Panterra - Power Of Love

Again let's switch to something entirely else. Same tittle, different song

Huey Lewis and the News - The Power of Love

The song itself starts at 2:15. Anyway, an excellent song, but not one of those that could send people to emotional roller coaster rides.

I tried to find good different versions of the Huey Lewis and the News song, and I found Idle Fingers. This isn't a very good recording, but I think I still heard enough to determine that I liked it. I'm looking for two things: of course talent but also the ability to take the song and make it a good version that respects the original song, but then again the musicians have to bring their own style in to it.

Idle Fingers - The Power Of Love

I kept searching YouTube for more Huey Lewis and the News song covers and I was pretty sure that if I just kept going on, I would eventually find something excellent. Cover song with the musicians own style.

Then I clicked on this one.

The Wackids - The Power Of Love

Now... let me... just... It seems that I'm no longer sitting in my chair. I've somehow managed to drop of from it and now I'm trying to gather bits and pieces... you know... I think I can just barely reach my mouse and click to the next one that YouTube suggests: WIND OF CHANGE and then of course HIGHWAY TO HELL and then... BACK IN BLACK... after that...
They
Have
A
Blowmaster.

It seems that I'm pretty easily entertained. Just hit me with a kiddies toy and I'm forever yours. :)

Sort:  

The power of LOVE!
Many positives to wrap up in on a rainy day in which many in the world seem so out to get each other.
Loving YOU, loving steemit and some sublime snippets, songs and writings here that have been so uplifting today :)

Thank you and you're welcome. :) There are so many songs written about love because it is such a powerful force. Let's hope love is powerful enough to heal the whole world. :)

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

You don't need money, don't take fame
Don't need no credit card to ride this train
It's strong and it's sudden and it's cruel sometimes
But it might just save your life
That's the power of love

Thaaaaaaank yoooooouuuuuuuu!
Again. :)

I dare say #educational tag feels warranted here, because I've completely forgotten about the Frankie Goes To Hollywood version and came to mostly associate "Power of Love" with Huey Lewis an the News... Thought that's perhaps because I mostly consume energetic or dramatic tunes -- they're like an emotional pick-me-up. But I can appreciate the beauty of a more melancholic tune too!
Frankie's version is probably my favourite out all the Powers.

Being worthy of educational tag perhaps would require one of the biggest singers also to be mentioned. Celine Dion. But for me YouTubes first suggestions were all Celine Dions versions of Jennifer Rushes The Power Of Love song or covers or Celine Dions version of... So I just couldn't obey. I just couldn't. :D And because her version isn't in my opinion that much different than the original.

I am a fan of Frankie Goes to Hollywood. Most of their songs (or covers) are weird, but I really like 'em. Most of their songs. Maybe because they are weird. One of the first songs I heard from them was War. That really hit me hard.

But the best of the best Frankies songs are:
Born To Run

And after you've listened that about a million times volume cranked up way over max:
Ferry Cross The Mersey


Oh, I just found our that this song isn't their originally. I like Frankies version more than Gerry & The Pacemakers (1965).

And of course Relax. We don't want to forget that one. :)

Nothing like a good dose of weird! It somewhat feels like the 80's New Wave bands tried to test the limits of what they could get away with (see also Oingo Boingo) -- turns out Relax was in fact banned on BBC in 1984 :) Not that surprising, considering how forward the song is.

Note: Born To Run link got replaced with the cover of Edwin Starr's "War" in the links there, but I tracked it down.

Oh! Oingo Boingo and Weird Science! I've heard this before but forgotten it totally. Thanks for the weird suggestion. Man, Little Girls - Oingo boingo is creepy. :D

test the limits of what they could get away with

And now we just shroud our shoulders to that. Although we may shroud our shoulders to that because they tested everyone's limits. Relax could still be banned in some parallel universe.

A copypaste fail. :D I had a long text about the song War but decided to delete it but the link remained. And I forgot what I had copypasted. It's like the reverse version of trying to save different kind of plants to my fingertips when playing Plants VS Zombies in a tablet. And if I want to go and get some coffee, I have to hold my forefinger up and be careful not to touch anything with it because I could accidentally plant a pea shooting plant in the middle of my coffee maker. :D

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Hello @insaneworks, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wooohooooooo!!!! :)

Hi @insaneworks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.535 which ranks you at #35018 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 45 places in the last three days (old rank 34973).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 337 contributions, your post is ranked at #146.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81