Sing Yesterday For Me (Keo Remix) [First Steemit Release]

in #music6 years ago

This is a track that took some time. Not because of its difficulty to create or it's complexity, rather that I had an unfortunate incident while I was producing it. After months of work, an error occurred which caused all of the sounds I used in one particular VST to reset to default.

Basically, all of my sounds were gone except samples like drums and other fx. This happened to another project of mine as well and for a time I slowed down on producing overall.


The original project file that is lost to time.

Then, some six or so months back I started again from scratch. I kept a general sense of the original track including reproducing the main chord pluck for the drop fairly close to how it sounded in the first iteration. At first, it went very fast, but I lost steam at the beginning of the second drop. It was a bit of a struggle finishing the track from this point. Every once in a while I would pop back and work on it for a bit, but never really get anything finished. I would go weeks without even touching it; I would forget about it often, as I sometimes do with other projects as well.

Eventually, though, I was able to finish it. I am happy with the final product, but I always feel room for improvement in all of my tracks. Usually, it's just little thoughts like "what could I have added to this percussion to give it a little more oomph?" or "should I have added some more effects to give it atmosphere?" Even if I am satisfied with the end result, there's always that little nagging perfectionist voice that drives me to try and make my music better. At the end of the day, it might have been that voice that even let me complete this project, and I'm thankful for that at least.

The fruits of my labor.

Thank you for taking the time to read this little essay I wrote up for this song. I know it's just a remix but it had a bit of a story behind it that I thought I'd elaborate on a bit. Also, for those who are curious, Keo is the original artist name on which I still post things that I don't think are quite up to par with my main project, Imanna. Again, thanks!

-Keo/Imanna

P.S. Shoutout to the artist that made the track, without him this remix wouldn't be possible. https://soundcloud.com/kleyna

Sort:  

Congratulations @imanna! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imanna! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71