Song of the Day - Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by The Platters

in #music6 years ago

I've been gone off here for a few days now largely due to some personal life stuff. My wife's staph infection got worse and as I'm writing this she's in the hospital looking at surgery while I'm doing the single dad thing for the next few days. Not exactly the most fun, he throat swelled shut last night from a severe allergic reaction to her IV meds which was pretty scary, but it looks like she is going to be alright. Just a tense few days.

I've been spending much of the evening reading about John McCain. I really think we are going to look back here in a decade and see him with nostalgia. I don't want to go to far into politics tonight and it feels cliched to say it, but I respected his integrity quite a bit even if I wasn't a fan on his politics.

Still, somehow I found myself on a list of McCain's favorite songs that was published during the 2008 election. Turns out he is a pretty big ABBA fan, but it was this song that really stuck out to me tonight. A throwback to an era of music that doesn't exist in the same way anymore. It's just a pure class number from the 50s. I dig it tonight. RIP John McCain.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. Latest Curator's Choice post: here. About IINC: here.

Woot! Thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62