You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Musicians Conundrum - The Devil's Crossroad & The road Ahead

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey Ezravan, great post. Lots of insights in here that are valuable for us Steemians. I do have to play devil's advocate though :-)

Is it really such a bad thing to market your music?

I can't really grasp why it is "selling out" or a "deal with the devil" to work to spread the message about your art. Every band that I love, they had to market themselves to me first.

Even the DIY bands - Fugazi did marketing and had an aesthetic, they just did it their way. Black Flag too. They had a logo!

What is a logo if not a marketing tool? Why did Fugazi, Black Flag, Sonic Youth, etc have PRESS PHOTOS?

And (to use my own examples), if a band like Sonic Youth doesn't count as "pure" in artistic intent - who does?

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69253.24
ETH 2750.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74