DIGIMETAL - ORIGINAL STEEMIT MUSIC! - METAL/ELECTRONIC/MIDI-ROCK + THEORY WALKTHROUGH

in #music6 years ago
Screenshot 2018-02-16 20.03.48.pngOverview of the whole track.

So this happened the other night

essentially by accident. I did that little trick of copying the drum-midi into an instrument track, just to see what happens. This time, I pasted it into the Ableton Strangler Guitar tone, and it worked out amazingly. Because there is a lot of kick drum, and that is mapped to a low C, the whole song wound up being essentially in key, because that C drones on the whole time.

Listen to DIGIMETAL here.

Basically there are 3 parts

to the guitar line; Part 1 is the first 8 measures, with the staccato guitar notes. Part 2 has the tritone fill every other measure, and the staccato notes. Lastly, Part 3 is the straight drum beat (with the double bass) and the constant guitar. That part is the whole end of the track, after 1, 2 and 3 repeat 2x, we play Part 3 all the way till the end, with a lead that comes in. As can be seen in the screenshot below, the drums and the guitar are identical to each other as they were copy pasta.

Screenshot 2018-02-16 20.03.56.pngThe Drum and Guitar copy pasta trick, described above.

I wanted to just leave the song

as is, but it felt kind of empty. Everything I tried to add that strayed away from the main form just didn't fit great, so I decided to just add some other instruments that basically mirror the same thing the drums and the guitar do. I added 2 synth tones, Tracks 4 and 5, that also play what the guitar plays. I felt that adding some different tones to this would be good. Track 5 is the same as 4, but 2 octaves up, also just helps fill it in a little more.

Listen to DIGIMETAL here.

Before I discuss the lead at the end,

I should mention the bass line, Track 8. It is just playing 1/16 notes on C for Part 1. For Part 2, it slides up to an F# 3 times a measure, which because of the synth settings, sort of just bends the note up and back down. It does this even more in Part 3, which makes that rolling feeling of the rhythm even more apparent.

Screenshot 2018-02-16 20.04.30.pngThe bass line during Part 3 as describe above.

Last up is the guitar solo/lead

that comes in at the end of the song. It plays a C, up to a Bb and down to G, then Ab down to Eb, and then to F and a little trill between F and F#. The second time through, we skip the Eb and go straight to F. When the higher notes come in, the basic lead is still going on below it, basically just plays 1/16th notes above it, jamming in Cminor. This lead then doubles in tempo, and takes us to the end of the track.

Screenshot 2018-02-16 20.04.03.pngThe Guitar Lead, as described above.

Hope you enjoy this song, sort of random one, but kinda funny how a single copy and paste turned a drum track into a metal/rock song haha. Anyway, thanks for the support! Steem On!

Buy an ALBUM of mine here!

I. The Supple Krew Soundcloud

II. Grapthar 2017 Soundcloud

III. Grapthar 2018 Soundcloud

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 9.22.41 PM.png

steemit rocks

most definitely!

nice music bro @grapthar

This comment has received a 0.51 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @hdtopon.

amazing sound system music and i enjoyed a lot
keep posting :)
@upvote done

Thanks I appreciate it!

amazing sound quality, soothing, keep up brother, you will rock...

Thank you I appreciate it!

Steemit Rocks always hot and so hot.
Oh nooo..... Great to hear.... the music make me cool and fresh.
..i love music...
Nice music sir...
Great to share
Thanks

thanks I appreciate it!

I like the arrangement and progression, but I think that fake guitar notes in the beginning are terrible sounding, it does sound a bit better in the later part. Have you looked into any 3rd party VST's at all? You could really step up your sound if you expanded outside of the built in instruments included with ableton.

Haha well it's not really supposed to be a great sound or a particularly impressive song, more just interesting in that it was just a drum line pasted into a guitar track that turned into something harmonic. I do actually have quite a few VSTs on my hard drive at home, generally I just write on my laptop at my friend's though.

I haven't really shared any of my more serious recordings on Steemit recently, my goal is just to write something fun every day and discuss the music theory behind it. However, I have been writing with some friends recently, so I'll be sharing some more serious, actually produced stuff in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60872.67
ETH 2913.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32