[The journey] A tale of love between a nobody & Lo-fi Hip-Hop (#1)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit! 

My name is Carlos (Currently 22), but I go by 'Segovia' most of the time and I'm from Venezuela. My main purpose in this lovely community is to share my history with a sub-genre of music that has captivated my heart and my soul, a sub-genre of music that delivered me from peril and saved me on my darkest hours: Lo-fi Hip-hop. 

I have always been a music enthusiast. From rock, jazz & blues to hip-hop, synthwave & electronic music, through the years I've listened and explored many genres, as a fan but also, with intentions of becoming a musician, one of many others of my childhood dreams. Since I was little I tried singing, playing the guitar and percussions, writing songs and even poems, but everytime I did, I felt that I lacked the talent to make anything worthwhile, until I discovered Lo-fi Hip-hop. My journey through this lovely sub-genre of hip-hop started when I discovered the works of Nujabes, J-Dilla, bsd.u, CULP, and others (Although Nujabes and Dilla weren't exaclty lo-fi producers, but they are precursors of many elements of the genre), and I quickly became adicted to the aesthetic and vibes that this style transmitted to me. With roots on jazz hip-hop, alternative hip-hop and and vaporwave, the thing that I find the most intersting and about the genre is the fact that it can give you so many feelings with only loops and vinyl crackles, and that anyone, no matter how talented they are, can start making it and with time, become good at producing it.

So, after a couple of years as a listener, as fan, as someone who enjoyed nights and days appreciating those streams and beat tapes, I decided to began my journey towards being a lo-fi hip hop producer, and I want to share with you guys one of my firsts works, one of many steps to come in this new adventure of mine.

https://soundcloud.com/segxvia/retrospectiva



I hope that, whoever that listen to my work, find it interesting and worthy of their time. Enjoy!

With love, Segovia.
Sort:  

@elbrujo, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Congratulations @elbrujo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90