Oilcan Guitar & Cookietin Mandolin - Going To California (Led Zeppelin cover)

in #music6 years ago


My brother and me playing Going to California by Led Zeppelin on the selfmade, upcycled oilcan guitar & cookietin mandolin. Some mistakes but we didn't have the time for another take ;)
I hope you'll enjoy the video and the music!

My brother is on Steemit as well: https://steemit.com/@taschee -> follow him for great posts about rock climbing, nature and great guitar playing :)

Parts used for the oilcan guitar:
Body: 10l oilcan
Neck: Mahogany
Fretboard: Rosewood
Tailpiece: frying spatula
Tuning-pegs: Harley Benton
Strings: D'Addario EJ26

Parts used for the mandolin:
Body: Christmas cookietin from Ikea
Neck: Mahogany
Fretboard: Purpleheart
Tailpiece: old forks
Tuning-pegs: Harley Benton
Strings: D'Addario EJ74


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow! I saw your two posts where you made these instruments, but it is amazing to hear them together playing a great song (one of my favorite Led Zeppelin songs, too). Incredible what you can make with what many people would have considered trash. Be nice to see if some less fortunate areas could utilize something like this to get a music program established for a school or group of random kids.

Great job!

Thanks a lot :)
I actually got the original idea to make instruments from trash because of some article I read (or documentary I watched - don't remeber which :P) about poor people in Africa making instruments with anything they can find so I think it could be possible that some program like that exists :)

Beautiful! You ought to make many more.

thank you :) I'll definitely be making many more instruments and probably some videos as well ;)

Those sound great together!

Great job guys ;9)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62