American Beauty (A Song)

in #music6 years ago

MI0002526318.jpg

Once upon a time, I recorded an album. It cost me a fortune, but I wanted to do it right. And I think I did. The album is called Standing Still, and even though that damned Jewel released a single with the same title a month after my album was released, I forgive her.

The first song on the album is American Beauty. It's a unique song for me, as it really actually wrote itself. You can compare this narrative to the lyrics below. Everything actually did happen.

It was three AM. I was at a coffee house in Redondo Beach, California, again. I spent a lot of time there. The coffee house was called The Insomniac. I was buzzing my brains out on coffee, smoking a cigarette, and reading The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac. My friend Tom (a songwriter and artist of epic talent) was in the next room, plugged into the house amp, playing blues solos. Just for fun. Me, I was sitting at a table in the back, in the shadows, being my usual mysterious self.

And then, this girl walked in. It was amazing...I remember FEELING her walk into the place. She was beautiful. The romantic in me was immediately all over the situation. She was dressed all in black...with long, crazy black hair. She ordered a cup of coffee and then walked right up to my table. She said hi. Her name was Jillian. (I know, because she told me so). She was new in town, from San Francisco. Hitchhiked from there to Los Angeles, just over the weekend. She looked at me like she had known me all my life. She picked up my book, and she wrote her number inside the front cover. "You'd better call me", she said. "You'll disappoint me if you don't".

And then she turned and walked away.

Did I mention that she was beautiful?

So, I called. She didn't answer. I left a message, and she never called me back. But by that time, it was all good. Jillian from San Francisco had given me the gift of a song. I sat down and simply recalled the night exactly as it had happened. And it became American Beauty. I never heard back from her. And I never found out anything about her. But I still have that book, with her number and her name written on the front cover. More valuable to me than if Kerouac himself had autographed it.

AMERICAN BEAUTY
words and music by DINO ROMANELLI

Another three AM insomniac
Drinking too much coffee, smoking
And reading Jack Kerouac
Listening to the guitar play
The blues for my soul
Hanging in the shadows
At the table way in the back

Then in from the night she came
My heart beat thunder
My blood burst right into flame
She was beautiful in black, she was
I know I'll never be the same

And her name was Jillian
I know because she told me so
She hitched a ride here just last weekend
She came from San Francisco
Oh, American beauty won't you
Take me with you where you go

Long dark hair and soft white skin she had
When she looked at me
I knew I never wanted anything so bad
American beauty, she is all that it takes
You know that girl drives me mad

And her name was Jillian
I know because she told me so
She hitched a ride here just last weekend
She came from San Francisco
Oh, American beauty won't you
Take me with you where you go

If you have any interest in my album, you can purchase a hard copy (CD) here:

https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/dinoromanelli

Or you can download it at iTunes, or almost anywhere else you can find independent artist album downloads.

Sort:  

#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

Yesss! My favorite Dino Romanelli song! I've been singing this off and on all week, Emma's been humming it and she doesn't even know the song.. I need to educate! She thinks my music preferences are outdated... ahh, she is young yet, though.

Thanks for sharing this, Dino. I hope the rest of the community here will appreciate it as much as I do!

♥-serena

Thanks, Serena! We'll get your whole family humming Dino songs around the house all day longf! :)

really awesome song!! glad you decided to record it the right way. this tune certainly deserved it.

Thank you so much! I'm really happy you enjoyed it!

Congratulations @dinoromanelli! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to Steem Community @dinoromanelli! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Dear @dinoromanelli, thanks for your beautiful post, in order to support you i showed your picture in my blog. Please feel free to check the link below and if you like my effort then kindly donot forgot to upvote and follow me too. ;). If you donot like your reference in my post then just comment under that post, i will remove it.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-3-1523747646-0163658

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72