You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlasto a Sacharíny - - Lebo sme svojí - Live at Underground music club

in #music6 years ago

I am Slovak and when I was listening to the song I couldn't say from which part of Slovakia they are. Then I read your comment and I understood that they are actually in Serbia, right? This might be the reason for slight language alteration. Of course I understand everything they say but they just pronounce some words a bit differently than I would do :) Are you originally from Slovakia (I mean your family)?

Overall, it's a great song. It's funky and positive. I'm sure you had a lot of fun during their performance.

Your photos show pure joy that they experience when they're playing. I love both of them. I wish everyone would have such happy moments like these two guys ;)

Thank you for sharing!

Sort:  

well this year was 212 years from the time when our ancestors came here from Slovakia. i think that most similar to our is old language from Banska Bystrica, Detva region. The thing is that our Slovakian was not influenced by the changes in language that happened in Slovakia, our everyday language was influenced by Serbian, but we learned "pravoslovensky" in elementary school.

I am part in that 5% of non slovaks, my mother is slovak and father serbian.

I know that i seen somewhere that you are a slovakian decent and that you are in switzerland, you moved recently or?

glad you liked it, stay tuned this week for more :D

I knew that there were Slovak villages in Serbia but I didn't think that I will ever 'meet' somebody who was born there :) We read some books in pravoslovensky at school and it was a lot of fun I must say. I really like that the language is kept there :)

Well, you're half Slovak so you should count yourself in those 95% too :)

No, no, I left Slovakia 14 years ago. First I used to live in Prague and the I moved to Switzerland. I've been living here for 8 years now. But I go back to Slovakia 4-5 times a year so quite often.

What kind of nationality do these people in Serbia have?

in the Vojvodina part there is mix of all :) just in our municipality of around 20.000 and 8 willages you have Slovaks, Serbs, Hungarians and Romanians :D Slovaks and Serbs are leading but others are not behind :)

Most of them in padina declare themselves as Slovaks. we have elementary school in slovakian, there is high school in slovakian and you can study slovakian.

I was tactically a minority wherever i was. In Padina i am Serbian, in high school i was slovak, while studying i was slovak :D

we also have Chor a Folklor :)
https://steempeak.com/serbiacontest/@bil.prag/team-serbia-photo-contest-retro

I was fascinated how popular the folklore (folk wear, dances and songs) is in Slovakia. I was in Bratislava last year with friends, they were on national television in a contest, and as i heard it is watched like crazy.

Very interesting. I really didn't know it was such a mixture. You must have many different traditions there from all these countries.

Hahaha, I get it! You were always SPECIAL! ;)

Yes, we keep our traditions and we like folklore. I personally only like it on weddings but I know that it's very popular in my family as well. I also heard about this competition :) My mom was watching it as well. People are proud of our culture and traditions and this is why they are still alive (I mean the traditions, not people :D)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47