The Braille Piano Method - Playing On The Black Keys 🎹

in #music7 years ago (edited)

"It takes the black keys and the white keys both, to make perfect harmony."
- Benny Goodman -

I have always loved music.

However, I am no professional musician. I consider myself a "music hacker."

When I was in grade school, the music teacher demonstrated some instruments for us. I thought that the "mellophone" sounded great, and signed up to learn it. Instead, I was given the only instrument available; an Eb (E-flat) alto horn.

The alto horn is a brass instrument with three valves. I learned my scales, and how to read a single-line music score, and eventually was playing with the band in concerts and parades.

Playing On The Black Keys

Playing On The Black Keys
Photo courtesy of Anja and http://pixabay.com

After we moved to St. Croix,

I met and became friends with the son of a Baptist minister. He was a "natural musician," and he introduced me to a simple method of playing keyboards.

Rather than starting in the key of C on all white keys, my friend showed me the key of F# (F-sharp) having a scale predominantly on the black keys.

Playing On The Black Keys

Playing On The Black Keys
Photo courtesy of Anja and http://pixabay.com

I've come to think of this as "The Braille Method" of piano playing.

With black keys projecting up from the keyboard, it is easy for me to "feel" my way around, locating and playing chords by touch.

Because of my earlier music experience and training, I have a "good ear" and found that I could listen to songs and figure out what chords they contained. Working out how to play them on the black keys of the piano was not too hard.

Playing On The Black Keys

Playing On The Black Keys
Photo courtesy of falco and http://pixabay.com

While I thought this method somewhat unusual,

I was surprised years later to discover that my grandmother also played the piano this way. In retrospect, it makes sense to me now.

Playing in F# is "natural" because of the advantages that it offers. You can find your way around the keyboard without having to look. You can visually engage your audience while you play. You can even play with your eyes closed!

Playing On The Black Keys

Playing On The Black Keys
Photo courtesy of Holger Schué and http://pixabay.com

The entire F# major scale includes only two white keys.

Furthermore, there are many famous melodies that can be played entirely on the black keys. For instance, the tune for "Amazing Grace" when played in F# needs no white keys whatsoever...

The C# major scale also includes only two white keys.

Martin Luther's "A Mighty Fortress" is written in C# in the Trinity Hymnal, and so it is one of a few songs that I can play in its "original" key.

Thanks to modern electronic keyboards, I can transpose any song I like into its "native" key simply by adjusting the electronics. I get to play in my "favorite" key of F# using "the Braille method," and the sound comes out in a good range for singing.

If you are a keyboard novice,

and want to surprise everyone with how fast you can go "from zero to sixty" playing the piano, give this a try.

This article is simply an introduction to let you know "it can be done." Perhaps if there is some interest, I'll add a few "How-To" articles later on and make this a series. What do you think?


List of Braille Piano Method Posts

**The Braille Piano Method - Playing On The Black Keys **
The Braille Piano Method - Lesson One ~Melody~
The Braille Piano Method - Lesson Two ~Chords~


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

it's interesting - everyone in my family played piano except me. My older son, Ryan, is an excellent pianist and piano tuner ( among his other many talents).
I play the Mac Air and occasionally my old hand-made Norman acoustical guitar, which by the way, Ryan houses in his collection at his place

Very interesting.

I find that pretty much every musical instrument acts like a magnet for me... I have a hard time keeping my hands off. ;)

from the end of my last story...

I was her Schroeder trying to play blues for her on a toy piano—and she could lean on me for a while, but there weren’t enough keys, and the black ones weren’t real—only painted on.

WHAT??? A piano sans black keys? Say it isn't so!

There's only one place for that kind of piano... the fireplace! :O

That is pretty cool, the keyboard was always a challenge for me but I will give this a bash!

Hi, @meesterboom!

Thanks for expressing your interest... It may lead to some follow-up articles! ;)

Good luck with your efforts, and please ask questions if you have them! :D

I will be sure too, the is nothing better than someone actually explaining something than trawling through YouTube wondering where you went wrong!!

That sounds amazing! I wish I did that (and I wish I could play by ear lol). As for the series.. Sounds promising. I say go for it. I played the piano during mid-teens. No formal training but my uncle and his then girlfriend roped me into it so I can sub on duet pieces. My mom's brother (my ex uncle ._.) hated Fur Elise when I was committing it to memory by playing every chance I got. I'm certain there are people who'd want to learn playing the piano the easy way. So yeah, my vote is on "yes, please!"

Thanks for another "go" comment... Looks like I'll be putting some effort into this series. ;)

BTW, "Für Elise" is a piece I have also learned and played in the past, using "conventional" methods... ;)

If read this before I might have had more success trying to learn the piano.. I remember being taught the old school ways and it was too abstract for me to wrap my head around. Glad you figured it out and that you're making beautiful music! Could be part of the reason why some people have more natural abilities, it's interesting your grandmother did the same. Thanks for a great post!

Hi, Judy,

Thanks for weighing in on this. It's not too late to start learning, if you have the interest! :)

Funny, I thought the same thing! Then I thought about it a bit more and decided I'd rather learn and focus on Steemit :)

Very informative post especially for a piano newbie like me. Along with the guitar, the piano has always been an instrument I've wanted to play all my life. Now that I don't have to worry about college, I have more time to devote to my old passions such as music.

Thanks for sharing these keyboard tips @creatr - I would love to see a "How to play the piano/keyboard" series in the near future! :)

Thanks for the affirmation... I'll be thinking over how to launch a first "how-to."

Awesome, can't wait! In the meantime, I'll dust off the old keyboard and start practicing my keys. ;)

That's beautiful that you found out that your Grandmother played the same way, I've never heard of it before now! Synchronistic to the extreme! Do you and your Grandmother share other interesting similarities?

I owe a lot of who I am to my maternal grandmother. She and I were quite close.

Grandma used to read me bible stories, and her Hungarian bean soup is still my very favorite food in the universe. I'm extremely grateful that my wife took the time to learn how to make it. Usually, at least a couple times a year, my wife makes me a big pot of bean soup that keeps me happy for several days. ;)

I'm looking forward to being reunited with Gram in The Glory one day... :D

That is so special that your wife learned your Gram's best dish! No better gift in the world! I'm happy you had such a close bond with your Grandmother, I have a deep love and respect for my Gramma, who thankfully is still here sharing her love and wisdom at age 93 and I am finally learning how to make a lot of her dishes <3 Perogies, her famous buns...her pie crust...<3 <3 Gramma's ROCK!

"<3 <3 Gramma's ROCK!"

I couldn't agree more! So glad you're Gramma is still with you! :D

Thanks for the info of the black keys. Blues artists love black keys. Makes sense though. Mom was and still is a piano teacher and I grew up with the piano. I make my living today on the piano. That sounds like a clavinova. A mighty Fortress was the opening for the old ELCA Lutheran children's TV show 'Davie and Goliath'. As they say 10 fingers ...88 keys...NO PROBLEM!!!

Nice!

I once made (part of) my living with the piano, tickling the keys at lunchtime for the residents of a convalescent home, playing old-tyme songs that brought back happy memories.

Thanks for sharing part of your story here today! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81