October (Original Composition) Songs For the Year (Song Cycle) Part 1

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I decided at the beginning of the summer that I would be trying to write one song a week (maybe more). I recently acquired a book of Robert Frost poetry, and decided to use poems from that book. My plans changed, however, when I discovered this poem by a young Frost entitled "October." I then decided that this would be the perfect theme for a song cycle, my first one, in fact. A song cycle is a collection of songs, with a common theme, that can be performed separately, or they can be used as one musical body. I figured that the months of the year would be a great theme for a song cycle. So, I am going to find public domain poetry about each of the months, and set these poems to music for a song cycle. This song actually came quite easy to me. I sat down, read the first stanza, and the theme came to me almost immediately. It took me about thirty minutes to write the melody, and 3 hours for the piano part.

This first month (October) happens to be one of my favorite months of the year. I love the beautiful colors, and the temperature (not too hot and not too cold). I love fall in general over the spring because I do not have flare ups with allergies in the fall. Not to mention, my birthday is in the fall. Here is the original poem:

O hushed October morning mild,
Thy leaves have ripened to the fall;
Tomorrow's wind, if it be wild,
Should waste them all.
The crows above the forest call;
Tomorrow they may form and go.
O hushed October morning mild,
Begin the hours of this day slow.
Make the day seem to us less brief.
Hearts not averse to being beguiled,
Beguile us in the way you know.
Release one leaf at break of day;
At noon release another leaf;
One from our trees, one far away.
Retard the sun with gentle mist;
Enchant the land with amethyst.
Slow, slow!
For the grapes' sake, if the were all,
Whose elaves already are burnt with frost,
Whose clustered fruit must else be lost—
For the grapes' sake along the all.

However, I revised the poem when setting it because I didn't particularly care for the last stanza.

O hushed October morning mild,
Thy leaves have ripened to the fall;
Tomorrow's wind, if it be wild,
Should waste them all.
The crows above the forest call;
Tomorrow they may form and go.
O hushed October morning mild,
Begin the hours of this day slow.
Make the day seem to us less brief.
Hearts not averse to being beguiled,
Beguile us in the way you know.
Release one leaf at break of day;
At noon release another leaf;
One from our trees, one far away.
Make the day seem to us less brief.
Hearts not averse to being beguiled,
Beguile us in the way you know.
Release one leaf at break of day;
O hushed October morning mild,
Begin the hours of this day slow.

Here is the song (: I probably spent more time editing the video than writing the song :)

[Image Source (Fall Woods): pixabay.com, License: CCO Public Domain]

Thanks for reading this! I hope to now go in the order of the months, so I hope to write January by next week (maybe sooner). Please remember that feedback is appreciated, and to check back later!


Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts
Come play on my minecraft server! The Ip is: SteemCraft.mcph.co

Sort:  

That was really beautiful, I like how you are drawing inspiration from poetry. May I suggest 'The Cremation of Sam McGee' by Robert W. Service for the winter months.

That's really impressive: from reading a poem to sharing a composition in under four hours. It looks so professionally presented. What kind of software do you use for musical notation?

Will you be having these pieces performed? I hope you're able to share the results if you do.

I use noteflight.com. I hope these will eventually be performed. Thank you!

That's so cool.

Man, I wish we had these resources around when I was studying music in the early 90s. Saving enough money to buy a cassette and a book of sheet music was a big deal back then. Now we can watch just about any piece ever recorded in live performance by any number of performers, while following along with the score.

Nice original post,keep it up! :)

Could sound much better if it was rendered with the use of vst instruments like "4front true pianos".

Hello, sweet song you have written here, yeah summertime without questions best time . :)

like taste of you music!

Hi, Thank you for helping to build the classical music ecosystem here on steemit. I enjoyed listening to October, and look forward to 11 more songs in the song cycle. A song a week is an ambitious goal. I'm pleased to see you striving for it.

This post has been shared on our facebook page, Steemit's Best Classical Music and included in our fifth roundup post - Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #5].

This is great, good job!

RightWithin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29