March (Original Composition) Songs For the Year (Song Cycle) Part 2

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I have been working on this song for about a month now (remember I said I'd be doing a song a week?) However, I do like how this piece turned out. I was going for the feeling that the beginning is a raging thunder storm (right hand rain, left hand thunder), and throughout the piece, the storm slowly turns into the beauty that is spring. This piece is the poem, March, by William Cullen Bryant, set to music by me. Here is the poem:

The stormy March is come at last,
With wind, and cloud, and changing skies,
I hear the rushing of the blast,
That through the snowy valley flies.

Ah, passing few are they who speak,
Wild stormy month! in praise of thee;
Yet, though thy winds are loud and bleak,
Thou art a welcome month to me.

For thou, to northern lands, again
The glad and glorious sun dost bring,
And thou hast joined the gentle train
And wear'st the gentle name of Spring.

And, in thy reign of blast and storm,
Smiles many a long, bright, sunny day,
When the changed winds are soft and warm,
And heaven puts on the blue of May.

Then sing aloud the gushing rills
And the full springs, from frost set free,
That, brightly leaping down the hills,
Are just set out to meet the sea.

The year's departing beauty hides
Of wintry storms the sullen threat;
But in thy sternest frown abides
A look of kindly promise yet.

Thou bring'st the hope of those calm skies,
And that soft time of sunny showers,
When the wide bloom, on earth that lies,
Seems of a brighter world than ours.

Here is the next song in my song cycle, entitled March.

Other Months
January - Not finished yet
February - Not finished yet
March - 7/31/17
April - Not finished yet
May - Not finished yet
June - Not finished yet
July - Not finished yet
August - Not finished yet
September - Not finished yet
October - 6/28/17
November - Not finished yet
December - Not finished yet

Image source (at the top): [Image Source (March Storm): pixabay.com, License: CCO Public Domain]

Thanks for reading this! Let me know what you think of this song, and remember to check back later!


Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts
Come play on my minecraft server! The Ip is: SteemCraft.mcph.co


(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.
Sort:  

Hi @cmp2020,

Thank you for posting "March". I enjoyed hearing it develop while you were composing it, and it definitely turned out nicely! Bryant did a nice job on the lyrics, too! ; -)

We have shared this article on the Steemit's Best Classical Music Facebook page, and included it in our latest post, Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #10]

Nice job. I like the intensity at the beginning.

Good post my friend i am @djnoel :)

Wonderful..spread happiness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77