Happy Birthday to Mozart (@ned's favorite composer)

in #music6 years ago

Hello everyone! Today in honor of @Mozart's birthday, I am sharing these videos about his life and music, as well as a cool clip from the movie about him (Amadeus). If you would like to read last year's post, it was 10 Of Mozart's Compositions To Honor His Birthday.

I have decided to include just one piece in this article. Mozart's requiem (only half of which was actually written by Mozart). He died whilst writing it. The piece truly is unique. Later on in this article I will have a scene from Amadeus of the Confutatis, but I am also including the whole requiem. My church choir is performing this requiem this year. I can not wait for that performance. Here is the requiem:

I only managed to watch this first part of the documentary. I did not realize there were three parts. This segment does an excellent job of explaining how Mozart rose to fame, as well as some of the sacrifices and decisions he made early on in his career. I think it is very interesting. Often, when we think of classical composers, we think of old guys 6,000 years ago (I know that is inaccurate) who wrote music because they knew it would be boring. These composers took everything seriously, and were literally a slave to their art. Then we look at the lives of composers such as Mozart, and realize they were really the same as what we may today call "young punks." They were somewhat irresponsible, and had aspects to their life outside of work in the same way that we all do.

Here is the second part. Judging by the title, I would hypothesize that this is more or so about Mozart's career and passion for performance. I will just say that Mozart was probably just as famous in Vienna for his performance and improv skills as he was for being a composer. This is something we often forget in modern times, that these people were also very skilled composers. I feel like we sometimes turn a blind eye towards this aspect of composers.

Here is the third part. The guy made hints in the first video that he thought that Mozart was the first Romantic composer. The guy says that Mozart is a romantic composer because his music expressed how he was feeling. I disagree with that statement. Most modern composers write music to express how they feel. Why don't we call them Romantic (Era) composers. The answer is because the style is different. There are tons of Bach pieces which could be argued to express emotion. These pieces just express it in a different way. The same logic can be applied to Mozart. As a result of this, I still think Mozart is a classical composer.

Here is a cool clip from Amadeus where Mozart dictates the Confutatis from his requiem to Antonio Salieri, with sheet music to depict what is going on. This is quite entertaining even though it is historically inaccurate and Mozart pronounces arpeggios wrong. Here is the video:

Here is the original scene:

Thanks for reading this! I hope you enjoyed this article. I think I will do another ten compositions by Schubert for his birthday this week. I am not sure. Please let me know what you think I should do. See you later!


Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts
(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check
comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or
"Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy"
comments.

Sort:  

Hi @cmp2020,

Thank you for another post in your composer birthday series. It's hard to believe that you're into year 2 of the series already. I especially enjoyed listening to Mozart's Requiem, and look forward to seeing it performed live at the church.

We shared your post on the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page, and included in our latest Roundup post.

Happy bday Mozart. Sometimes he is wonderful music to have on in the studio druing painting times, the grandeur can lead to powerful brush strokes.

I think the same as you @cmp2020 , Mozart is a classical composer. His compositions are not only full of romanticism, they are full of endless emotions .. Simply for me the best ... Thanks for your post. Excellent

Happy birthday to mozart... awesome post dear thank you very much for sharing with us ur lovely post dear pls following back @cmp2020

12 MOZART phrases that will never forget

"Melody is the essence of music".
 "Neither a sublime intelligence, nor a great imagination, nor the two together create genius; love, that's the soul of genius. "
 "No one can measure their own days, you have to resign yourself. It will happen as you wish the providence. "
 "New friends, new pains".
 "Music is the only way to the transcendent."
 "There's only one thing worse than a flute, two flutes."
 "In an opera, poetry must necessarily be an obedient daughter of music".
 "Give me the best piano in Europe, but with an audience that does not want or feel with me what I do, and I will lose all the taste for execution".
 "Too much for what it is, too little for what could have been."
 "It is a mistake to think that the practice of my art has become easy for me. I assure you, dear friend, no one studies as much as I do. "
 "The most necessary, difficult and main thing in music is time."
 "If the emperor wants me, he will pay me, because only the honor of being with him does not reach me."

It's interesting to think that in that day and age Mozart was a "punk" that older generations at the time would frown upon and perhaps call irresponsible and cocky, although not able to deny his talents. To compare a composer like that to someone like Jack White would seem strange, but it is not far off. Jack is in many ways a slave to his art and he's very eccentric, very much the same attitude.

Thanks for the ear food! It just became the background music for my night.

Happy Birthday to Mozart.Your music is so great & famous.I like it a lot.
Thanks @cpm2020.
I wlll wait for your upcoming post.
@Resteem & follow has done.

I've never been a huge fan of these types of music until the past few years, I love to paint to his and also Beethoven symphonies. Great post!

Thanks for sharing this post @cmp2020
Happy birthday to mozart music.

Happy birthday to him! He created so many beautiful pieces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99