Walkin' Music - A Musician Composing for ClientssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

As part of my work with clients, I am often asked to create music for specific purposes. It may be part of a TV commercial, the theme for a piece of drama, filler for a stage piece, part of a TV show, and so on.
Andrew with GreenScreen2.jpg

I always try my best to create something new myself rather than use existing music. There are many reasons for this: I can control the mood of the piece for the client. It forces me to be creative. My client does not have to get permissions and so on.

I love doing this and I have developed a workflow for the process that lets me create things relatively quickly.

Some of my clients require "musical logos." These are very short musical theme that can be played as part of commercials to help consumers identify products/services/individuals/etc. These are usually 1-second in length and need to be catchy and reflect the clients' needs. Very tricky, but lots of fun :)

Many of my clients have been personalities who make public appearances which need music. A few years back I was asked to write and record a piece to be played as a MMA fighter client walk through the crowd to the ring

boyd small.jpg

I also work with a lot of politicians who have specific requirements. The music needs to connect with voters and reflect the personality of the client. Tricky stuff :) Oftentimes the music created for a client may not be something you would listen to in any other setting, but can work for the specific purpose of your client.

Yesterday morning a political client's rep informed me of a news conference coming up this week and the need for some walk-in music. This is a high profile positive event and is to be covered by all the TV and print new outlets. Music is required to be played quietly as the client enter the hall, greets guests and makes the way to the podium. It is to be played again when the client finishes, leaves the podium and makes way to the scrum.

Music like this needs to fit the mood of the event and the message being delivered by the clients. It CANNOT over power the client, but must mildly entertain enough to fill the void. In this case it cannot be bass heavy as it can distract in the venue and must have a celtic feel, appeal to youth (808), etc. This is what I came up with to be played at this event.

Image credit - http://wpmedia.o.canada.com/2013/09/

Sort:  

This job seems perfect for a multi-talented musical orphanage manager like you Bucky!

Do you do steemgigs or is your rate astronomical? ;p

Thanks @ecoinstant. Those orphanages can get pretty complicated :P

I know nothing about Steemgigs. But I will check it out for sure.

Hey Bucky! Yes its pretty new, like all of steem, and the tag is a bit polluted, but basically you can use the steemgigs tag to either offer your services, in your case a fit to scenario musical piece, or announce a job/bounty looking for someone who might be able to complete such a task.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @buckydurddle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
There is a sponsored @OriginalWorks contest currently running with a 125 SBD prize pool!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

interesting stuff. you have your finger in all the pies..

mmmmmmm, pie....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42