Bucky Talks - Tips for Creating Good Content - Brian EnosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

Have you been in a creative rut? I have the solution for you!!!

terra nova small.jpg

Back in 1975 Brian Eno and Peter Schmidt created a set of card containing little nuggets of advice to get creators out of creative block. Each of the 55 card gives a little piece of advice that will disrupt your current thought process.

"You don't have to be ashamed of using your own ideas"
"Change specifics to ambiguities"
"You can only make one dot at a time"
"Make a blank valuable by putting it in an excquisite frame"
"Honour thy error as a hidden intention"

I love these! I keep these handy all the time and usually once a week I will pull one out to help me revaluate.

You can still buy the box set of cards or you can get them randomly on several sites. Here is the one that I use and have it placed on the upper toolbar of my browser so I can click it at any moment - http://www.oblicard.com/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oblique_Strategies

Sort:  

I saw Brian Eno in concert long ago. A very surreal night in mid manhattan. he does/did some damned interesting collaborations. worked with Bowie too.

when was that video? it cant be Canada. I dont see any snow.

Hey @torico Yep. Newfoundland. Wow, Eno in concert. That must have been nice.

I looooove Brian Eno, I didn't know about this card set I'm gonna bookmark this for when I need it!

Oh yes, it is wonderful. The cards have a great way of getting you out of a jam. They are focused mainly at music, but I think they can apply to pretty much any creative medium. Thanks for visiting Julia. Always a please to read your comments.

BRAIN ENO !!!!!!!! Love his record "Here come the warm jets" also he did some production work with Devo

I will check it out. Thanks Stick

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @buckydurddle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

oblique strategies - kind of like Polonius' M. O. in Hamlet -'by indirections, find directions out'

Most of creativity IMO is subconscious, so you don't strain but need to get out of the way

One way to go when nothing is popping is to get outside and stare at the clouds. Don't do anything else. Just enjoy the clouds and allow whatever thoughts to come - you're like a stick in a stream carried along by the free flow of ideas. If nothing comes repeat and do it again next day. Soon you will be tanned and feel refreshed...if nothing else ;)

Haha I love it John. Excellent advice. I think I will go outside and work on my tan right now. Oh, I forgot that I live in Newfoundland. I will work on my fog-tan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60