You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Builds Your Musical Skills More? - The Hours Played Per Day Or The Years You Have Played

in #music7 years ago

These kids have spent the time to develop their chops. Quite amazing, I appreciate your sharing.
I feel the time spent daily is the most important factor in developing your skills.
The years come second along with consistency.
In my 20s through to late 40s, typically I would play from 12 to 18 hours a day, basically married to my instrument, obsessed. Learning and playing most of the daylight hours and then playing top 40 rock in clubs 3 to 6 , sometimes 7 nights a week. In those times I could play most anything I heard in my head. Now at 70 yo It's more like taking chances. lol
Thanks for jarring my memory bank, because I remembered many other points, which are way too long to do it justice, and be in this reply. I'll soon write a blog with my personal views.

Sort:  

Look forward to that post. Living and breathing your instrument really shows when someone plays.

Yeah, Living and breathing your instrument reveals your intent and drive when you play. This dynamic translates into your hands and fingers giving you your own signature sound. When it's flowing, you're playin' through your heart Brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39