My Hot Take on The Grammy's That No One Asked For...

in #music4 years ago

Ok so for the last week or so I have been working on some home renovation projects, and in order to keep sane during mundane tasks, I pop in my earbuds and listen to something on Amazon music. For sheer shits and giggles, I decided to put on the Grammy nomination station.

Whoa.

What a disappointment that was.

Sorry to offend modern music junkies, but that shit is terrible...like, a heaping pile of burning trash on a barge headed to Southeast Asia terrible.

Music is no longer even required to resemble music anymore, as much as recorded noises and synth stuff.

One notable winner from this ceremony is someone my eight year old quite likes: Ms. Billie Eilish.

She won 5 Grammys on a song and album that her brother co-wrote with her.

Ok, now I did give her a good college try. I listened to her nominated album and came to a few conclusions:

  • You no longer have to be able to sing to win best new artist in music at the Grammys.
  • It is apparently A-OK for your brother to write lyrics for you to sing that involve seducing dads and giving blowjobs.
  • Billie Eilish is diet Muse meets Manic Pixie Dream Girl Target Commercial Folk Singer

None of these conclusions should ever have led to her winning cinco Grammys though. What. A. Joke.

As much as I am not a huge fan of modern music in general, I can at least admit that there is some serious talent out there. Ariana Grande's songs aren't everyone's cup of tea, but they are catchy, and she has a banging voice. She is really like the Mariah Carey of the 2010-2020s and I imagine she will be around for awhile. Her last album that was nominated at the Grammy's had more than a few bangers, but she was left out to dry by the bland, unimpressive mumblings of Billie Eilish and her creepy songwriting co-writer.

Now, I am not here to just hate on Billie, it's just she happened to sweep the Grammy's, so all eyes and ears have been on her the last few days. I also LOVE how when you Wiki her, it is made to seem like she just released a great song on SoundCloud and it was SO good that she rose to fame from there. You have to dig a little deeper to discover that she was born into a wealthy family in LA with a mother who is an actress, and father a musician. Her brother had a producer at age 10, and they pushed her song to the top on SoundCloud. It is amazing what some money and connections can get you, and what that can eventually lead to...like 5 undeserved Grammy's.

Oh, and the icing on the cake is, this privileged lil lady decided to give her Grammy speech on how hard life is. Just...ew.

(Also her brother Finneas seems like a Grade A Douchebag. Think, the brother of the new love interest on the Netflix show "You". Gross.

Moving on.

Rap Sucks Now.

You can fight me. Go ahead. I'll wait. This isn't to say that there wasn't a time and place for it at one time, or that Eminem doesn't still got it,(cuz he does still got it). But, the shit I was hearing on the Grammy nom list was CRAP. Grade A Garbage.

There is no variation in the music, and most of the songs didn't even have a hook. Literally just different dudes talking about how bad their life is, how cool it is to cheat on their women, how great hookers and blow are, and sex, sex, sex, sex. (All men making ludicrous amounts of money of course.)

I like old school rap music. I will blast it proudly in my mom van, but this modern shit? Uh, no son, take a seat and learn from the grandpappies of your genre. You have a LOT to learn.

Country I don't pay much attention to, but I have noticed it getting more and more "pop"-y. My dad is a huge country fan, and he barely listens to the radio anymore because the music is pretty bad.

Don't even get me started on "Old Town Road".

Just, don't.

I was pleased that J-Beebs didn't win anything on his craptastic song "Yummy". If my kids play that song more time I will burn Alexa and the room that has her in it.

Sooo basically TL:DR, crap music took the stage at the Grammy's and it doesn't look like that is changing anytime soon. Mumble-bumble is still in and you no longer have to have good music or a good voice to win a Grammy.

Hm, good to know...

Thanks for reading!

To the moon!

xx - Lady Steem

Sort:  

I feel like music and movies have got to this point where the artists and content don't matter its now this level of indoctrination and they've established this industry that enough morons will accept any trash that gets put out and promoted through the various massive marketing budgets. Like many industries, its been hollowed out and it's all about flipping a profit. If I can get some random ass person off the street to mumble rap give him a million bucks and make 20 its a no brainer

Seriously. It is a golden age for music because there is really great stuff out there, but you really have to dig through a lot of garbage to find the good.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 222 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32