Half Hour Songwrite Challenge Episode 9 - DESCRIBE YOUR FRONT DOOR - 12/13/18 - A Dtube Exclusive! - A Musical Meandering for Freewrite #418

in #music5 years ago (edited)


It's the 11th episode of HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE! 💛

I kinda thought today's prompt might be the one to trip me up and make me fall flat on my face (my front door has changed so often in the past couple of years that I'm not sure I could even describe my current one in simple prose, let alone write a song about it), but it didn't. Although I admit I was at a loss to even get started for a good five or ten minutes there in the beginning. And also that I stretched the meaning of the prompt a little bit. But the end result was something surprisingly decent.

@mariannewest is throwing curveballs so far this week, and I've given up on getting an easy prompt anytime soon. That's ok, I feel ready for anything after "temples made with hands", "crank", and now "describe your front door".

Bring.

It.

On.

HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), by viewer suggestion, or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

On Sunday I'll be finishing one song from this week's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge, and posting the completed version. But on SATURDAY you, the viewers, get to decide which one! Saturday's video will feature numbered clips of each of the song fragments composed this week, and you get to vote for the one you'd most like to see made into a finished song. So be sure to tune in on Saturday and vote!

If you have a prompt that you'd like to see me try, drop it in the comments below. If I use your prompt I will send you one SBI as a thank you!

Today's prompt brought to you by @mariannewest's daily five minute freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-417-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-crank

This is my 93rd Steemit freewrite!

Today's prompt is: DESCRIBE YOUR FRONT DOOR

Lyrics:

DIFFERENT

The front door of the house
Where I live
Is always different
Just when I begin
To think about settling in
Something changes
Rearranges
And everything's different
Again

I used to think it was a curse
But now I think it's worse
'Cause when I see the door I need to find
In my mind
It opens up into
A room I share with you
What if I just can't settle down
Without you around?

©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hehehehe videos starting part was kinda funny type and i must say you really play guitar very well hope so one day ill also learn to play like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @sumit71428! It just takes practice ;)

I love your lyrics!

Great job with the insane challenge of @mariannewest. I agree she is off the deep end this week. These must be from nightmares she has or something like that. I don't know if you were here for this one, but I think she is trying to out do herself :)

freewrite i floss my tears fitinfun.jpg

This still makes me laugh every time I see it and we had many interesting entries that day.

#snapcomment

hahaha - just wait till I really go off the deep end LOL

You make my life so much more fun Marianne :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I floss my tears? Whoa... Actually that sounds like it might make a good emo one lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet there were interesting ones! Nightmares lol XD

Posted using Partiko Android

lol i enjoyed your video a lot. you're well equipped for a 'musical meandering'!
this post deserves a lot more rewards than what i'm seeing right now.

Awww... thanks round bear! I love doing this series :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I just recommended your fantastic post in the weekly freewritehouse contest. I'm glad I got it before someone else did. You are so talented!

https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/week-36-win-a-membership-in-steem-basic-income-tell-us-about-a-favorite-freewrite

#snapcomment

Thank you so much @fitinfun! Would you like to help us vote for the winning song this week? I can add you to the taglist in Saturday's recap post if so :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You're really stepping up to the challenge. Great job.

Santa Bruni delivering today's bag full of prompt!
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-419-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-history

Thanks Bruni! Just posting the history one now...

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha man, I thought the video will be half an hour long :D I was aaalready pretty pissed and wanted to write u a comment about uploading such huge files hahah :D 2:09 is whole another story ofcourse :D

#snapcomment

Lol! No, the half hour part is offscreen ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

@bennettitalia, Really cool series is going on and in my opinion, today's Theme is really interesting as Describe Your Front Door. And my favourite line from this stuff is Rearrange Us, Everything different. And i can relate with these lyrics because, it hold the look of reflection of the house. Keep up. 👍

#SnapPlusComment

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @chireerocks! Yes change can be difficult to weather but also an opportunity to reinvent... Wishing you all the best as well :)

#snappluscomment

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome and thank you so much. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 1.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.173 which ranks you at #8792 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 8781).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #143.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00