You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beat Battle League Week #16 | "Gypsy Lane" | Original Track

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Dude it's serious electronic composition, it gave me that Radiohead feeling right from the start and all the way until that trompet droppt in. One can feel the Balkan tone in it, I can tell since I grew up with those tunes surrounding me. (: It's very musical, melancholic and mystical. That's the 3 mighty M's right there. (; Great track @ivan.atman or should I say Odlično. (;

Sort:  

Da da odlično, thank you @beatseb 😄 so you are/were around Balkan or have somebody related from there? I am personally from Croatia, this brass drops are more typical for the Romani gypsies in Serbia and Macedonia, like Kočani Orkestar really made it so popular

Yeah uuhm...I grew up in Macedonia actually, and I was more or less forced listening to those sounds while practicing Jimi on my guitar. I never wanted to be identified with those sounds in my youth...but today I see it differently. It's an enrichment for my musical knowledge. ☺

I know "when a child America is great" 😎it was the same for me, wasn't forced to listen to Croatia folk but its all around you where I live, but Macedonian folklore is something else, me listening to Dragan Dautovski who revived many of the traditional Macedonian songs took a big part in me growing as a diverse musician, also made me very curious about the odd beats that was actually wide spread in Croatia before but now is extinct here, now I can play and understand percussion in any odd beats thanks to that, @beatseb where do you live now?

Right. Macedonian folklore is very beautiful and rich in rhythm and harmony. I live in Germany since '92 and at the moment in Saarbrücken / Saarland. (:

Cool, do you still go to the sunny Macedonia in summer?

Occasionally..I do. (:

Yeah man :) to get away from all that German clouds, you know what, I actually have some loop/improvisations where I've recorded my versions of Petlite pejat, zora se zori and Jovano, Jovanke 😁 now don't laugh there is no production and vocals are off at places totally it was just for fun, check it out

Skip to the minute 04 : 00

https://soundcloud.com/sensei-archers/east-project-demos?in=sensei-archers/sets/east-and-the-west-demo

Nice..and yes..I'm laughing. Come to discord. I'm Beatseb#5328

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62887.03
ETH 2682.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55