Bands not to Have Open for You:- AC/DC - Brian Johson era

in #music7 years ago

So Bon Scott is found Dead in a Renault 5 , Acute Alcohol Poisoning is the official verdict. Feb 19th 1980.

They were due to start on the Album that would become " Back in Black" the next day!

Strangely enough Bon Scott and Angus with some of the others had seen Geordie in action , Bon had remarked "Great Singer" and Angus remembered this!

You can replace nearly anyone in a Band , but The Vocalist?

Luckily AC/DC had always had Angus putting on his Frantic Show on the Front of the Stage, Brian Johnson Auditioned got the Part ,very interesting story this! ( indicate if you would like to know more?)

The Lyrics had already been mostly done( By Bon) and they quickly got Back in Black going ,

The Most Successful Rock Album ever made , even Celine Dion covering a number from it!

The rest is History , back into touring, I recall that there was a show featuring Black Crowes, Motley Crue and Metallica , and ,topping the Bill, AC/DC.

If you have been to live concerts you will know that they only use the Full PA on the Main Act , the others get a percentage.

Angus and Malcolm found out that , I think Black Crowes, ( Could have been Motley) were sleeping in Cars, ( could not afford Hotels ) they financed rooms for them for the rest of the Tour!

Angus listening to the Opening Bands, realised that they were not getting full Benefit , went to the sound Guy and said ,

"Give them the Full PA. " But" "Don't But Me , I will have you fired if you do not do as I say . "we don't need your help?"

After their respective sets Tommy Lee ( Motley) and Chris Robinson ( Crowes) were watching Metallica from the Side Stage , " extremely impressed, "How will AC/DC survive this?"

Within 2 Bars of AC/DC coming on , they understood remember My Original Post :- https://steemit.com/music/@awgbibb/bands-not-to-have-open-for-you-ac-dc-bon-scott-era

In case you are not sure ?, read the first 2 lines of my previous post again " O ye of little Faith"

I have never see them live , but can only imagine! And weep at a cruel fate that used to tell me every year that AC/DC were coming to tour South Africa!( next year)

Thunderstruck was their most commercially successful Single , Please remember, they were actually an album's band. You will battle to find a Dud number on any of their albums.

Following is a tribute to Bon from Back in Black

And as a special treat for my Steemit Friends , Here is the Fly on the wall Video :-

This completes My "Bands not to have open for you" series.

If the foregoing was not enough , let me know?

Hope you enjoyed this, Till Tomorrow!

Sort:  

ACDC legend! Best song: You Shook Me All Night Long

Thank You , I don't have a particular favourite.

meep

Well Said, Thanks.

cool

Aaaah Thunderstruck! I've always preferred alternative/indie to rock, but a classic is a classic!

Delivered as Promised! Thank You My Friend.

Think Brian Johnson is a great artist and also a smashing fella I was made up to finally get tickets to see AC/DC last year but was very disappointed when he had to drop out and axel rose stood in nothing against him I do like guns and roses but for me not the same. Cheers mike

Yes ,too many changes, Unfortunately.

Thank You.

It is unfortunate. Cheers mate

Damm that was on Point enjoyed the time reading and seeing the videos amazing one

Thank You.

Back in black is one of my favorite albums ever, what a great band!

Thank You.

Band biographies are the most interesting stories. One cannot make this stuff up!

Difficult to get away with! True. Thanks.

Nice post love AC/dc..

One of my favorites band's ever!

As they should be! Thanks.

Nice beat and song, I love it

Glad you liked it! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59364.52
ETH 2593.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47