Bands not to Have Open for You:- AC/DC - Bon Scott era

in #music7 years ago

Let me say this now, AC/DC are the Best Rock n Roll Band in the World!

If you don't think so?, you are most probably wrong! ( how is that for being polite?)

This, the 3rd and probably Final in this series, I will have to make this in 2 Parts.

I was playing at the Nash in Vereeniging with the Band Thor , when I first heard the Song above on the Radio! ( yes they used to play decent music on the radio then) This would have been 1978, they had earlier albums , but they were probably not released in SA until they were better known out here.

We were probably the first Band out here covering AC/DC songs.

I could not believe how catchy their songs were , you just had to get up and dance when you heard them!

This 2nd Video is from the Bands Live Concert in Paris and was available on VHS ( never put to DVD) and is probably one of the Best Live Concerts ever. You can find it online.

Two Months after this Concert Bon Scott , who was a Great Front Man and the Best Writer of Gutter Lyrics ever, was found Dead in his Car.

What a loss for Mankind!

But ,I am too far into their future now.

When they first left Australia to go to The UK, they arrived in London on the 1st of April 1976 to go on Tour with Backstreet Crawler ( whose Guitarist, Ex the band , Free, Paul Kossoff, 26 years old ,died on a plane of a Heart Attack) at this time putting a spanner in the works , so, they looked for a Pub to play at:-

In the words of their booking agent Richard Griffiths

— interviewed for Clinton Walker’s must-read tome, Highway to Hell: The Life and Times of Bon Scott — it was “probably the greatest show I’ve seen in my life. [AC/DC] were doing two sets, and to start with there were probably ten people in the pub. [The band] did the whole number, Angus [Young] on Bon’s shoulders, everything, I’d never seen anything like it. Then the place emptied. About half an hour later, [AC/DC] came out to do the second set and the place was packed. Everyone had run off and [told their friends] ‘You have got to see this band.’”

Before Cell Phones, remember!

Grant the Guitarist from Sandbox ( see my " So you want to be a Rockstar " Series) Came back from Australia with a book on AC/DC , I avidly read it , not sure if he ever did.

Once they hit America, the word rapidly spread do not let these Guys open for you!

I know Good Bands like Journey and a number of other Top Bands did not want to tour with them.

I hope you enjoy this, they have so many excellent classic songs!

All these Video's are courtesy of YouTube.

Sort:  

I am Thunderstruck! (That one is a perennial on my driving play list)

Thank You, Coming up.

موسيقى رائع صديقى@awgbibb

Fantastic love AC/DC Bon Scott was very good and I do think Brian Johnson is very good as well great read thanks. Cheers mike

Can't dispute that, Thank You.

Great band stood the test of time. Cheers mike

I watched a Youtube vid last night - sent it to my wife.

This guy was turned down by the Voice after listening to 6 bars of him singing. That's insane.

True talent is a gift and a man's gift makes room for him, regardless of whta people in power say

He's Great, but then TV shows are bad for you!

you're right ! but I love his voice :)

thunderstruck is my favorite

That will be in the next episode.

Nice music 😊😊😊😊

They were the best artists of his time. I agree with you

Thank You, agreed.

wow thanks for sharing, nice post and videos......... I enjoy it

That is the important part of being on Steemit, enjoyment!

AC/DC is an awesome band and any true rock n' roll fan will tell you that.

Thank You, That's why I did.

Thx for sharing... Golden earing is also close...

Radar Love!, what a Great Song. Thanks for the reminder.

Yeah it s a classic

I like toast 🍞

I like toast 🍞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45