Bands I really Loved: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

in #music7 years ago

All Videos Courtesy of YouTube.

While playing Bass in the Band "Thor " in the late 70's , Gordon Broadley, the Guitarist asked me , have you ever heard of Tom Petty ?

I answered in the Negative, but remembered to go to a Record Shop, could not find it !

Then looked through the Sale Rack, a whole stack of the Debut album, had not taken off, bought it and took it home.

Put it on the Turntable , alright , but when Chris heard it , she went crazy about it , and nothing has changed to this day!

Listened to it again, it definitely grows on you , and the more I listened the more I liked it.

At that time the Phil Spector " Wall of Sound " was in as a recording style,.Tom Petty's recording was sparse , each instrument stood out, I loved it!

He dropped out of school at 17 to join a band, and has never gone back!

Tom has this Band, has also done some Solo releases, and was part of the Traveling Wilbury's.

He has sold over 80 million records!

The second album produced the above

Some others:-

Wayne, Our Eldest went over to the UK for a number of years, was working at Grosvenor House , where a lot of international Rock Stars would stay. Sure Enough , he runs into Tom Petty and Mike Campbell in a corridor.

"My Mother is your biggest Fan!" is his opening line. Both of them pull out a Guitar Pick from their respective pockets , "Give these to your Mom"

Needless to say, she still has them!

Tom Petty has put out consistently great songs for decades now , is very distinctive , and you do not get tired of him, what more can you ask?

With Stevie Nicks

If you have not heard much of him before, I am sure that after going through these Videos you might begin to understand my enthusiasm?

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing

Thx for the post. First time i heard a song if them

You can always find something new to you!

Never to old to learn!!! Maybe you also like this idea..https://steemit.com/steemit/@rival/introducing-world-wide-steemit-day-please-read-and-react-thx
And I hope you can resteem so the more people who know it the better it will be reality.

Thank you very much alan for resteeming. I hope it will be picked up and we can decide what will be the steemit day for the coming years

you must have one hell of a music library awgbibb - I get tired of everybody sooner or later but some people reinvent themselves like Rod Stewart channeling a Thirties vibe - that's who I listen to now when in my car, or I don't listen to anyone at all - except, Deb, my wife, of course :)

Most of the time. I listen to Tinnitus, so happy when people make a noise!

hate that! LOL

He's done some great songs over the years, great post thanks mike

Thanks for sharing

Your choice is great buddy
Nice work

Tom Petty rocks!, That reminds me to post some of my favorite tunes

Great band, thanks for sharing, resteem

True Rockstar 🎸🎸🎸Rock collection Tom

Spacing Out Is Good For You 🔭
https://steemit.com/dnews/@funnystuff/spacing-out-is-good-for-you

Really good sound man, the song Here Comes My Girl sound so good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51