3 Favorite Songs From College and High School - 7 Day Way Back Music Challenge

in #music6 years ago

10659279_10153357530588704_5077498805265726016_n.jpg
My Best friend and me in college

My all-time favorite band in high school was named Judah. It was a local band that would play at our church or other churches with small concerts every once in a while. My brother was in Spanish class at Dallas Baptist University with the bass player, Jesse Reeves, and I was totally in love with him! They were super techno and I was cool with that. They later changed their band name to Between Thieves and split up a few years later. I heard that Jesse was still playing bass for Matt Redman (and happily married to a lovely girl) a few years ago! This wasn't my favorite song by them (Away With You), but it shows their techno side before they dropped it when they acquired the name Between Thieves.

(This was probably their most popular/famous song:)



While studying in Spain, this song was so popular, I bought the single at the Corte Ingles before we left. Ha! I don't remember hearing it too much while we were there, but the other girls said it was played all the time! I wasn't hanging out in the same places they were, however. It mentioned my best friend's name in it as well (Sandra in the sun). Oh to be young again...



I remember listening to Jars of Clay a lot in high school as well. They were pretty catchy and pretty cool looking guys. I had a lot of songs that I liked, but I remember most of the words from "Flood." I liked that they were a Christian band also. No idea what they are up to these days... It is funny how some of these people can ride the fame ride for a while and others just get a hit or two and are out of the spotlight.



I think that's it for me from the 7 days of way back songs. I didn't do a very good job of posting daily. Ha.
If you want to participate, here are the rules:

Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
Mention one person who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

I was nominated for the 7 day way back music challenge by @bozz.

My other posts for the music challenge:
2 Female Singers
Jesus Freak
Como la Flor

1panama ben fb.jpg

Sort:  

Hahahaha! I loved Mambo Nº 5! It's right up there with Macarena :-)

There is this song that they play on the radio in Spain, every time it starts to get hot out. Los Rodriguez – Hace Calor.

Never heard this song before but I have been REALLY enjoying reading everyone's memories and songs through this challenge.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 31 SBD worth and should receive 114 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Aww nuts, was going to upvote but its too close to payout... oops!

Anyway, love the posts and the songs! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75