This beautiful song is stuck in my head and I wanted to share it with you guys.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I recently heard this song ‘Bella Ciao’ on the Spanish show ‘La Casa de Papel’ and I thought I should share it with everyone.

"Bella ciao" was sung by the anti-fascist resistance movement active in Italy between 1943 and 1945. The partisans were Italian soldiers who formed a resistance against the Fascist regime and the Nazi troops during the Second World War. It's a song about freedom.

What I love about the song is that although it sounds like an upbeat song, it’s actually about dark, difficult times.

Although I'm Indian and can't understand a word of Italian, I still loved it. Only goes to show the beauty of this song.

Bella means Beautiful and Ciao means Goodbye.

You can click the links below to listen to the song.

The lyrics in English.

This morning I awakened
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao (Good-bye beautiful)
This morning I awakened
And I found the invader

Oh partisan carry me away
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao
Oh partisan carry me away
Because I feel death approaching

And if I die as a partisan
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao
And if I die as a partisan
Then you must bury me

Bury me up in the mountain
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao
Bury me up in the mountain
Under the shade of a beautiful flower

And all those who shall pass
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao
And all those who shall pass
Will tell me: What a beautiful flower!

This is the flower of the partisan
Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Bella Ciao Ciao Ciao
This is the flower of the partisan
Who died for Freedom

If you guys know any such hidden gems, please do let us know in the comments. Hope you guys enjoy the song.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ankitsherigar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ankitsherigar! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48