It's surreal watching your favorite band live - Budapest concert and a quick look back on the new album

in #music7 years ago (edited)

There is no feeling like that. When you are there in the crowd, waiting, and then the lights turn on and your favorite artist appears right in front of your face.

You spend years of your life listening to this music that evokes so much emotion in you. Whether it be joy, melancholy, motivation... You spend the days romanticizing of how would it be to one day see them live.

Even though I've been fortunate enough to see most of my favorite bands, Wintersun kept escaping me. And I've been literally obsessed with them for years. After failing to catch them at Summer Breeze festival in Germany in August, I was determined not to miss them in the beautiful city of Budapest, Hungary. It is only a 5-hour drive from Belgrade so we bought the tickets and eagerly waited for the day.

And what a beautiful experience that was!

Two months after the release of new album

It's been two months since the long awaited new album saw light of day. For those of you unfamiliar with the band, it was a part of crowdfunding campaign where all revenue is dedicated to building band's very own music studio. Being very perfectionist they refuse recording future albums without proper production, so some of their releases fans were expecting back in 2012 aren't yet on the horizon.

The Forest Seasons (2017) is a conceptual album with four tracks each of them representing different season. As you probably guessed, it is inspired by Vivaldi's "Four Seasons".

Album is done in a traditional sense where Spring represents birth and awakening, Summer represents life, Autumn represents twilight and near death and Winter represents dark slumber and loneliness that comes with it.

It's a folk metal album with melodic death and even black metal influences. And for the fans that have been awaiting for so long, it once again struck the chord.

Four tracks progress the story of life in a linear fashion, but also keep interest as you are constantly wondering where they are gonna go next. Lyrical themes include mix of both cosmic and fantasy elements, but also portray reality and individuality of man and it's place in this circle of life, from birth to it's inevitable sad end. From the upbeat, motivating spring, folkish summer where you get the feeling like you are in some forest in a medieval village, to a brutal, devastating autumn and a hauntingly beautiful, sorrowful winter.

My love for this band went to another level after listening to this.

I'll leave you with a few concert photos and a song to check out at the end. Let me know what you think. :)



If you ever get a chance to see your favorite band, go ahead and do it. Don't regret a single thing.

Sort:  

I totally agree. If you have the chance, take it! You may not always get another chance. It is totally worth seeing a band live that is your favorite!

Glad we agree on this! :)

I could not agree more. There is nothing like the experience of going to listen to your favorite band live and sing along with the songs. I was fortunate enough to go on two concerts of my favorite band in Croatia and I loved it.

Listening to them live an the on a cd is way different and way better. I am happy you got another opportunity to listen to your favorite band and that you used it. I seem you really did have a great time. :)

Thank you for sharing it with us. Have a great day. :)

I'm glad you ceased your opportunity as well! It's a feeling like no other. :)

Thanks for the comment!

Thanks for sharing! So happy to see Wintersun again! I wonder what Jari is saying in the last picture.
Did you have an opportunity to talk to them? And, BTW, what's your impression of Jari without a guitar?..

I didn't get the chance to talk to them unfortunately. :/ Hopefully next time.
I love Jari without guitar! I thought it might be a bit awkward when I first heard the news. :D I love seeing him with guitar, but I think it's much better this ways, cause he is interacting with audience much more and he's able to fully express his emotions with mimics and gestures and not worry about hitting every chord.

Setlist was almost perfect, I'm so happy that I was had the chance to hear Loneliness and Eternal Darkness (this one's now maybe even my favorite!). You are seeing them again soon?

Don't know if it will be that soon: I was happy to see them in your post. I'm going to Finland in November on business, but they will be touring in Asia at the moment. They might play in Russia next year, but it is not confirmed yet.

I'll probably be in Asia in November so I might see them there! Good luck to you. :)

nice nice subject and photo steemit.com/@jacklin1996

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48