Fun facts about mushrooms, featuring original images

in #mushrooms7 years ago (edited)

Who here thinks mushrooms are amazing? Well, there might not be a lot of you, but I know some of you are, after I read this post from @itchykitten.

Today I want to share with you three photos I took when I was visiting a natural reservation in Germany.

I absolutely love mushrooms, and today I also want to share with you 3 fun facts about them:

A. Did you know that, judging from a DNA's stand point, mushrooms are more similar to humans than to plants?

This is true, amazing aaand freaky at the same time :)

B. Another fun fact is that mushrooms, as opposed to plants, produce Vitamin D when exposed to sunlight. IMG_9356.JPGHuman skin behaves very similarly.

C. The last mushroom fun fact (for this post anyway) is that, well, mushrooms have their very own immune system. Sooo, yeah :)

IMG_9367.JPG

Thank you for your attention. I hope you liked the photos and the fun facts about mushrooms.

I have made quite a lot of mushroom photos, so, if there is interest, I might transform this post into a series. Let me know :)

They really need more attention from the scientific community and from people in general.


  • What do you think about mushrooms?
  • Have you ever gave them some interest other than how tasty some of them are?
  • Do you know of someone unfortunate enough to get poisoned with some of them?
Sort:  

I will say a fool thing, but you know Im improving my english thinking and orthography, but this post make me think that mushrooms are the pigs of vegetal reign!!! ;) By the way I love them!!!
I send you a big Hug @sirrius!!! :D

Thank you for posting

You are very welcome :)

Congratulations @sirrius! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55