We went mushrooming again and ended up eating the devil's snuff-box!

in #mushroom8 years ago (edited)


Me presenting some of our findings: two dotted stem boleti and two connected puffballs.


Norman @sature and me went for a walk in the forest surrounding my home village in the black forest. Those three mushrooms are called "Flaschenstäublinge" in German. In English they can be called the devil's snuff-box or puffballs.


It has rained a lot last days so we can probably pick up those little ones we saw last time soon. They are great in taste and consistency.


We did not pick up those ones for we have no idea what kind they are but my parents dog Prinz was quite interested in giving them a smell.


This was the first time I went mushrooming in my home forest and I was super curious of all mushrooms I found. Here you can see a beautiful big tree fungus.


Does anyone know what kind of mushrooms the big ones are? We would like to pick them up if they are eatable for we saw quite a lot of them. The small ones are called the fairy inkcaps. They are supposed to have a boring taste and are toxic in combination with alcohol. Anyways they are very cute :)


This is the fly agaric, in German called "Fliegenpilz". We saw a lot of those red beauties on our hike. With the right preparation they are used for shamanic rituals, probably since the stone age. Read more on http://ambrosiasociety.org/


Some more pretty tree fungi.


Stunning colour of a young ramaria aurea within a bed of moss.


Maybe the home of a fox family?


Here you can see some unidentified mushroom friends.


We first thought this were tasty kuehneromyces but after checking them more detailed we found out that it is likely that they are the deadly poisonous galerina marginata. Their lovely look still made us happy.


This little water stream had a calming sound and created the most peaceful atmosphere.


Walking on we saw some slimy mushrooms next to the water.


Prinz playing hiding detective.


A stolen apple tastes even sweeter.


Norman and Prinz playing on the way home.


This is the vegan dinner we created with 2 dotted stem boleti and 8 puffballs. It was super tasty in combination with pasta and zuccini. Little extras: tomato and basil.

Lots of Light and Love and Happy Mushrooming! <3

Our last mushroom hunt: https://steemit.com/mushroom/@yoganarchista/giant-mushroom-we-found-the-crinkly-mother-hen

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures. I don't want to sound like an asshole, so I say this tentatively, with the upmost amount of respect I can give, within this online universe, even expert mushroom hunters die. Happy and safe hunting my friend!

Thank you for the good wishes :) We try to stay save, so we only pick the ones we can identify 100 %. Anyways after picking we always check every mushroom with different websites and books. :)

All I am familiar with are morals, puffballs and chicken of the woods (all U.S. hunting) I wish I had half the expertise you have with this. mushrooms are an amazing food source.

It was fourth time mushrooming in my life :) Norman had some experience already which was helpful. Maybe you can join other mushroomers for collecting. I have learned more with every tour and I am also very fond of mushrooms. :)

Wow some really good snaps here of what looks like a very successful mushroom hunt, looks like a fun day out and the dog is so adorable.

Thank you :) It was a beautiful day in deed :) Here is another picture:

Nice pictures, I especially like the one with liitle mushrooms in the moss. Such vibrant green! ...Is the dog being useful in mushroom hunting? )

Cheers :) Thats my favorite picture too. He is more of a stick hunter, never gets enough of searching them. Whenever I get tired throwing them he gives me this look:

Beautiful pics! Love mushrooms. reminds me of being a kid. We often went on mushrooms hunts in the woods with my dad when I was a kid.

Cheers, I never went mushrooming when I was a child but from now on I will. Nice that it brought back good memories :)

What a great report of a mushroom foraging outing. I sure would have liked to find this a few days ago, so I could curate it for the new SteemTrail @foraging-trail. If you do any more posts like this, please consider adding a tag "Foraging", so I can find it. The guidelines for posts to be recommended for curation are here.

I'm running a Steemit scavenger hunt game focused on foraging right now, so people can find posts like yours. I hope someone finds this post and your crinkly mother hen! Enjoy all the fungus among us! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92