Announcing project #mushroom-monday! Write about mushrooms on Monday and win some STEEM!

in #mushroom-monday7 years ago

Hey everyone. I see a lot of cool mushroom related posts here on Steemit, so I wanted to create a little community project called #Mushroom-Monday, where I want as many people as possible to post about mushrooms on Mondays.

I think this could be a cool tradition to begin, and I already have a post lined up for the event. So find your best mushroom picture, write about what mushrooms you like to collect, share some Mushroom-funfacts, or comment on other people who post using the Mushroom-Monday tag to join the fun!


Boletus edulis, one of my favorite mushrooms. Maybe someone will make a post about it on Monday? Image by Tomas Čekanavičius, posted under the GNU Free Documentation License.

Why should I care about Mushroom-Monday?

Because mushrooms are amazing, and I will give away some STEEM to some participants. Other than that it is just for fun, but I hope this is something the community will appreciate, and all of us mushroom lovers can use this event to share knowledge and learn something new about them.

Post about mushrooms, and win STEEM

Anyone who makes a post about mushrooms on December 5th will be entered into the contest. I will select three winners based on whichever post I like the most. The winners will get 5.00 STEEM each.

In order to be able to win, you must do the following:

  • Create a post that is somehow related to mushrooms.
  • Use the tag mushroom-monday.

And that’s it. No need to upvote, comment, follow, resteem or anything like that. Of course, please feel free to do this anyway, but I do not want to force this upon anyone. But please, share the message and get people to be aware of this project, and I’m sure we will see a lot of good contributions this Monday.

The STEEM will be sent to three winners, and I will write an announcement of which posts I pick as winners.

I might be a few days late to pick winners and send the Steem if my girlfriend goes into labor before Monday is over, but hopefully the baby will wait until Tuesday ;)

See you on Monday

I hope I will see a lot of engaging posts on Monday! I was initially going to post this post tomorrow, but decided to give you guys a heads-up so you have time to prepare a post.

Make sure to check the tag #mushroom-monday if you are at all interested in the incredible world of mushrooms and fungi :) Hopefully it will be full of cool posts on Monday.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Nice cool tradition - I hope it catches on! I've added a post today per your suggestion under the #mushroom-monday tag.

Great, thanks for joining mushroom-monday! :)

Nice idea! I made a post and used mushroom-monday as one of the tags. But not the first tag. Is that OK? It should still show up when I search the tag, though. But I can't see it in the list of mushroom-monday posts. So here's the link: https://steemit.com/mushrooms/@haphazard-hstead/the-haresfoot-inky-cap-a-cute-little-autumn-mushroom-of-the-woodchip-pile-100-original Sorry for the confusion. I like the idea of mushroom-monday! Every day, lol.

Your post about mushrooms growing without synthesis is also missing. I found it through search, but not through the tag itself. Something is messed up, I think. It's like only the first tag is functioning for posts made today.

Great, thanks for joining in! It should not be a problem that the tag is not the first, except that the website seems to be a bit bugged right now. And my post disappeared from the tag list as well. Good thing you dropped a link to your post then! :)

O hope this gets fixed before the next mushroom monday! It's definitely causing problems for me in curating for the @foraging -trail and the @gardening-trail.

Yea, I can see that being a huge problem. I read somewhere that it works properly if you only use 4 tags, but if you use 5, the post will only show up on the main tag. So it might seem like only using 4 tags is a good strategy to bypass the bug for now.

That's a helpful insight! At least we can use these mushroom-monday posts as a way to test whether the bug is fixed. ; )

Hmm I came to the party a little late it looks like. But I'm on a search for more mushroom fans. I've started a mushroom series called "The Amateur Mycologist" - one mushroom per post, about two a week - right now I just did L.sulphureus or chicken of the wood.

I'm also trying to start a mushroom discord channel - so far its me and one other person :) - but there seems to be a lot of quiet interest in mushrooms on Steemit and I'm hoping to consolidate that into one space.

Anyways, hope to see you there.

Hell yeah! Mushroom Monday??I'm in - the ground - transporting nutrients - every Monday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95