You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tour into Hidden Alleys and Vibrant Art Murals

in #murals8 years ago

Agree, with the caveat that it's not always possible to do so, for example if the art isn't tagged, or you can't read the tag. Here are two more murals that I noticed are still on my iPhone. They're from a Dawes concert at the Electric Factory in Philly this past 7/16/2016. I did notice that they were tagged with @GetUpArt:

Dawes_1

Dawes_2

Sort:  

I'm pritty sure if you take the location of the mural and what building it is on with a little searching online finding the artist would not be hard at all. I just personally think the artist deserves to have his name noted on it if your are making (or trying to) money off of their art work. just opinion tho.

I do see your see point and I do tend to agree. I think you're correct in that a little leg-work and Googling would, in most cases, show who created a particular mural. What I’m not sure about is where to draw the line? For example, if I post a picture I took of the Freedom Tower, does that obligate me to give props to its chief architect David Childs? Or is it that once you put something out there (like a mural) it kind of becomes in the public domain? A little searching showed me that it's not a black-and-white issue.

I'm not a copyright lawyer, and thus I have no working knowledge of the legal aspects. But I did find this 2014 article that may be of some help in discussing this: 6 Things You Must Know About Copyrights in Street Art.

Here's an interesting excerpt from the above link:

"Q: If someone takes a picture of my mural, does this mean they have infringed on my copyright? Does this mean that any photographs I take of street art will infringe on someone’s copyright?

A: It depends on–and here’s the sticking point–the nature of the use. There is a kind of use that is statutorily defined as “fair use,” a theory that most people are familiar with, but is poorly understood. Section 107 of the Copyright Act provides that reproductions can be made for the purposes of “criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, … scholarship or research,” without infringing. Fair use is the reason a professor can use slides of artwork in his or her classroom, or why this site can use pictures specifically relating to items discussed in its articles."

I guess the big question is. if photos can be art and murals can be art, are photos of murals art or just photos of art? if they are just photos of art then the artist deserves reconition for the work they created. if they to are art, they would fit into the goup of a colaboration i would think and if so wouldnt it be propper to give credit to the artist you did the colorabation with? im not saying you should be punished by law for it. :O i was just trying to give constructive critisim. 8D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50