My mundane moss photos

in #mundaneart7 years ago (edited)

I have participated in the last two rounds of @kus-knee’s #MundaneArt photo contests, and really enjoyed sharing my photos, as well as seeing how others chose to interpret the different themes. In each round, The Old Dog gives away 20 STEEM in prizes, so I would encourage you all to enter. Read the rules at his post, but basically he picks an average everyday subject, and asks everyone to submit a photo that elevates the “mundane” to art. This week, the theme is Moss and Lichen, and I am entering an older shot that I took of shelf fungus growing on a mossy log.

shelf fungus.JPG
Taken with my Nikon D50 near Flat Rock, NC. f/5.6 at 1/125sec at a 35mm focal length.

I cheated a little by using a photo that I shared on Steemit when I first started, so I will make up for rehashing an old shot by adding a couple of newer ones below.

102207Cashiers 002.jpg

The one above is a different perspective of the snail on a rock photo that I posted earlier. This overhead shot is more about the entire scene than just the snail though, so I think it works for this theme.

The shot below shows a few blades of grass poking through a moss covered hill. I was playing around with shallow depth of field, and maybe it’s a tad too shallow. That narrow band of focus gives it a nice minimalist effect that I like though, and for me, photography is all about experimentation. That's what makes it fun.

100707Cashiers 104.jpg

Sort:  

Very cool images of the Mundane @jctdesign I'm very glad I called in to Say, "Hi,' and to find this contest. I might just go and dig up some lichen shots I have put away for a rainy day. I hope your day is full of sunshine. If not from the weather, but hopefully from the joys of life in general.

Please do send in a photo. At the end we put 20 of the photos into a virtual gallery and the results are always stunning!

Photo sent @kus-knee I must take a look at the gallery of other photos shortly. They sure do look interesting. Am following you and look forward to other contest opportunities.

Thanks! I am glad you stopped by and found the contest. I saw your entry on @kus-knee's post. Beautiful shot.

Beautiful photos

You've got a great eye for beauty! I am a big fan of minimalism and the last of this series is splendid! Love the pics!

Thank you! I am becoming a big fan of your contests and galleries. It's fun to share my photos, but I really love to see how other people find beauty in the mundane.

You truly have found beauty in the mundane @jctdesign. Not that mosses or lichens could ever be thought of as 'mundane.' 🍀

Thank you so much! I really like your "mundane art" photo too...and I'm pretty sure I'll be seeing it in the round 9 gallery soon.

I don't know how I missed your entry....it's beautiful. I love the muted colors in the corners.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72