You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mundane as Art: Round 9: Moss and Lichen. Submerged and Frozen Lichens. Ephemeral art. Original Photography

in #mundaneart7 years ago

Beautiful as always @allyinspirit. 💙

Once your arrangement is frozen how long do you generally have to photograph it before it thaws and things start to move around?

Sort:  

Thanks so very much Gillian.

This piece was built up with very thin layers of water that were frozen over a period of many days.

Each stage has its own magic. Generally, I photograph each stage, even if only for my own documentation purposes.

I would have shared the making of this piece, but unfortunately I was in transition between cameras and computers at the time and I can't find the photographs. Lucky to have this one.

To answer your question though. The ice starts to melt as soon as I take the piece out of the freezer. If I'm quick enough I can capture some of the exquisite ice frosting which seems to disolve in front of my eyes.

But the stages in-between being ice and water are the most fascinating. In this image the orchids below are still suspended in the ice ~ Otherwise they would have risen to the surface.

Generally it takes a few hours before the entire piece turns to water, loosing all the layering effects. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54610.81
ETH 2293.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35