Steemit Goals: Quality Post Everyday for 100 Days. First week down!

in #mspsteem6 years ago

Hello Steemian friends,

I have been so motivated by the determination and consistently awesome content that you all are putting out.

I have always wanted to have a daily practice of journaling/blogging, but struggled to keep the habit up. I know it is healthy for me and a habit I really want to develop. Why has it been so difficult in my past?

Well, I am starting to see a change, thanks to you all!

Being able to follow, engage with, and celebrate in your met goals and successes has sparked in me a drive to push forward. For the last 3 weeks, I have been able to post something of substance and meaning to myself almost everyday.

But I want to kick it up a notch.

I'm not sure exactly where it comes from, but I have this desire to create a meaningful post everyday for 100 days straight. I am pretty happy that that I just completed my first week on this mission (today will be day 8).

Here is where I see it getting difficult:

1. Weekends

I knew this already, but finding the time to post on the weekends is a real struggle for me. I have five young kids and an amazing wife. I want my weekends to be spent with them (no offense). Still, I am confident that I can set up rules for myself to achieve my Steemit goal without compromising my precious family time. This may look like waking up before the rest of the family. Or taking advantage of windows of time rather then passively strolling through Facebook. I may even begin a draft of my Saturday post on Friday/Thursday to help cut down on the time.

2. Work

I am a lawyer, so my work load does fluctuate somewhat. For example, I am scheduled to assist with a trial in mid March. That will mean extended hours and less availability to Steem during lunch. It is going to take a lot of discipline on my part to prevent my goal here from getting drowned out.

3. Burnout

I have not felt it at all yet, but I am trying to be mindful of the reality of burnout. Posting quality content that has meaning for me does not just happen. Maybe some of you all are on that master level where you crank these out while brushing your teeth. I for one expend a lot of energy into each post. It definitely also fills me up in an emotional way, but I want to be cognizant of my own stamina throughout this process. And did I mention that I have five young kids!

4. Phoning it in

Okay, so I have definitely had a few posts that I'm not super proud of. I do really like the idea of sharing interesting/personal photographs, but I want to really stay faithful to my goal of every post having some meaning. If I want to have a photography post, then I need to unpack the context and significance of that photo. Doesn't have to be ground shattering, but I am here mostly to blog, not to takes pictures with my phone.

Those are what I see as the biggest pitfalls facing me over the next 92 days.

What can you do?

Honestly, just continue to be the great, fantastic people you are. I love getting engaged comments from people that clearly took time to read and think about my posts.
Also, keep me accountable if I do start to phone it in. Seriously, I don't want a technical victory, I want to push myself to accomplish something that I can be proud of. If you feel so inclined and notice me slipping, give me a little shout out.

Thanks for being you and all of your support this far!
I am looking forward to this crazy journey.

Be blessed,
Sam

Image Sources: Rugby,


Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Sort:  

#4 is necessary and acceptable in moderation. #2 is what gets me the most. I've just started my post journey as well. I chose 30 days .. currently on day 7. I'll try and remember to check your page on the reg to help keep you accountable

Thanks for your thoughts and support. I agree, there will need to be some level of phoning in, almost as a way of creating rest of the digging deep kind of posts. And congrats on your success towards your goal so far. I will do my best to support you as well!

To your other question about mspsteem, I am not 100% sure.
It is something started by @minnowsupport and the Minnow Support Project folks. I first saw about mspsteem in this post and thought I'd try it out. Minnowsupport also has a discord channel called Peace, Abundance, and Liberty. Discord Link. They even have a vote bot that you can call on through discord for free once every 24 hrs.

Also... What is mspsteem?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sam Simkins from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I came to you from your feature on @qurator. Congrats and this is a great post. I use most of what you do to good success.

You might want to look into @steemdunk. This is a great way to support your friends and not miss their posts. For example, you can put @qurator in there so you easily vote on 7 posts a week and get into their Tier 2 that way.

My fb time is almost none now. Steemit has all of that now :)

Thank you very much, and I was so excited to see me post highlighted by @qurator. What a great community.

Thanks for the @steemdunk tip, i just checked out their page and it looks really helpful. I definitely plan on staying in Tier 2 (at least until I have enough to delegate).

My FB time has also been slashed. I haven't been able to get a lot of my friends to migrate yet, so I still poke around there a little bit. Thanks for your engagement and nice to meet you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65