Counter-Slut-Walk

in #mra8 years ago

So here’s my idea. I appreciate your thoughts on the matter;

Women organise “Slut Walks” in defiance of being called “sluts” for the way they, as women, dress. But mostly to make a statement about the “Rape Culture” they claim is targeting women.

My counter to this, given that rape by women isn’t recognised by UK law, that both conviction and sentencing of women is unfairly lenient compared with men’s, and that mild sexual assault (i.e groping) and “cat-calling” of men by women is something to be “laughed off” and counted as “trivial”.. is that we should have a counter protest.

The name “slut walk” is very evocative and takes a negative to draw attention to a real issue. Therefore I propose a
“Rapist Rally”
so that we can address the fact a system which insists that the 1 in 5 (or 4 or 3 in some propaganda) statistic is true whilst ignoring statistics on male victims, the fact that men aren’t the only gender capable of rape, that we don’t like being called rapists when we’re not, and to hopefully give some weight to complaints about the gender biased justice system.

Their messages boil down to
“just because I’m naked does not give you consent!”
whilst proudly displaying their naked breasts.
Our message could be summed by slogans like
“just because I have a penis doesn’t mean I’m going to rape you”
whilst proudly displaying our naked penises.

As always I welcome input of anyone who wishes to comment and I hope some meaningful discussion can arise.

Sort:  

The difference between showing breast and penis is that the breast's main function is not to be a sexual organ while the penis is.

Thank you. My point with the specific nakedness was that they're both considered wrongly by society as things which should be covered up, weirdly because of sexual connotations.

Lol @mnemonixs lateral thinking I like it, I would not suggest organising a "Rapist Rally" though, that will not turn out well no matter what your intent is , nobody will be willing to listen to your reason for calling it that, but I do think men must become more vocal and active and willing to ignore the shaming and bullying. We don't need rallies what we need to do is start talking about the issues amongst ourselves and bring our issues out into the mainstream

I'm really only attempting to spark debate. Given that "slut walks" attract people who identify as "sluts" I wouldn't want to genuinely risk the consequences of organising a "rapist rally".

Yeah I gathered that lol, I apologise if my post seemed condescending and I salute your attempt, it was just a word of caution. Unless you have a strong platform that you can defend yourself from sometimes posts like that get picked up and turned against you or the community trying to address mens issues. I am not an MRA but I do support their efforts and hopefully they and others can broker some sort of peace deal for the next generation. As for me I'm walking away, these wwoan can have their cake and eat it for all I care, they are doing themselves more harm than good in my humble opinion.

Wait, you started off with wanting to call attention to the fact that men get raped, thr summarized your message as men might not rape women?

"slogans like.." does not imply an exaustive list, especially given the beginning of the piece as you so aptly mentioned. Thank you

Congratulations @mnemonixs! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mnemonixs! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mnemonixs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69