🎬Watching novelties: Top of the Lake season 2, Snowfall, Will, The Last Tycoon - short reviews

in #movies7 years ago

I watched a few more TV series over the last week I. Let's find out are they good or not.

1. Top of the Lake 'China girl', season 2


Image source

Plot

4 years passed after the events of the last season. Sydney. Robin Griffin has a new partner (Gwendoline Christie). They will investigate a new case - a murder of an Asian girl.

We''ll also see Nicole Kidman with a strange hair color.

Image source

Release date on BBC Two on 27 July 2017.

6 episodes are available

Trailer

My opinion

I can't help it but I adore TV series like The Killing, The Bridge or Bellevue. The Killing is the top, there's nothing like it, but Top of the Lake is also worth watching.

The new season surprises with the cast. Gwendoline Christie is so perfect in her role! You should watch this season just to see her.

The first season is focused on murder, the second one shows the inner world of the main character. It organically intertwines with a new investigation. The main character no longer reminds me of Dana Scully, I see Robin Griffin now.

It is unusual and mysterious and does not look like typical American TV series. It would seem that so much has been read and seen that there is nothing more to be impressed. It's impossible. But this TV series still amazed me and horrified.


2. Snowfall


Image source

Plot

Eighties, Los Angeles. The city was swamped by cheap drugs from the Dominican Republic. In the center of the plot, 3 young guys: a street vendor, a gangster and a guy from a good family.

Release date on FX July 5, 2017

4 episodes are available

Trailer

My opinion

It's not a new hit, but it's quite interesting! Perfectly passed entourage era, accompanied by an unparalleled soundtrack, which became a calling card of that time and those centrals.

I started watching this show 2 times and after the second time I liked it. I like shows about drugs, I thought that it would be something like Narcos or Queen of the South, but Snowfall is diametrically opposite. It will show about young guys of that time who want a better life.


3. Will


Image source

Plot

20-year-old William Shakespeare goes to London. He needs to feed his wife and three children, so he tries to make his way to his theaters in the capital with his plays.

Release date on TNT July 10, 2017

5 episodes are available

Trailer

My opinion

We all know the famous Shakespeare, but what was before his fame? I can describe "Will" in three words: unusual, colorful and cruel. I think, not everyone will like such plot giving, especially to the fans of real history.

The spirit of that time and the modern music are strangely intertwined in TV series. It would seem that these things are absolutely incompatible, but it turned out very interesting.


4. The Last Tycoon


Image source

Plot

The Hollywood Epoch of the 1930s. The young producer Monroe Stahr is fighting for power with his mentor and current head of the film studio Pat Brady.

Release date on Amazon Video June 16, 2016

9 episodes are available

Trailer

My opinion

The plot is based on the last book of F. Scott Fitzgerald "The Last Tycoon". Lily Collins and Matthew Bomer look like from the Golden Age of Hollywood. They are great for their roles.

I wasn't taken in by the plot, but I really like that era. TV series is about business, the power of money, love and the influence of Nazi Germany on Hollywood.


Thank you for watching my post!


Gif source


My previous posts about this summer novelties:

Sort:  

Upvoted and also resteemed!

thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31