🎬Watching novelties: "GLOW', "SALVATION", "MIDNIGHT, TEXAS" and bonus

in #movies7 years ago

Hello Steemit community!

If you missed my last review about such novelties as "Gypsy" and "The Mist", here they are:

Ok, let's discuss next novelties.

1. GLOW


Image source

Information and Plot

1985 year. Los Angeles. Ruth Wilder repeatedly fails casting for the role. Having reached the extreme point of despair, she receives an invitation to a strange casting. It turns out that she and other women-losers will train for a new show about women wrestlers.

Original network - Netflix

Original release - June 23, 2017

One season, 10 episodes

Ratings

IMDb 8.1/10

Rotten Tomatoes 95%

Trailer

Resume

I watched the full season in one breath and I liked it. It's amazing and gives you so much emotions!! I remembered how being a child I watched a wrestling show and a wave of nostalgia swept over me.

Good humor. We are shown ins and outs of the wrestling - training, how characters characterize, etc. The atmosphere of the 80's is also well-received, although the city and residents are not particularly shown.

Glow - it is dozens of unusual characters. Each actress is unique and thanks to them many problems are revealed. This is a great show to laugh and learn a lot about the world of wrestling. I feel that I'm looking at a real life, not a play of actors. The creators of the show did real wrestling.


2. SALVATION


Image source

Information and Plot

A huge asteroid will fall to Earth. The US government does its utmost to prevent the dissemination of information about the imminent death of all of humanity, however, three brave people stand up against them: businessman Darius Tanz, who is engaged in technological developments (apparently the prototype of Elon Musk), a student Liam Cole, who discovered the asteroids and Pentagon Press Sec Grace Barrows.

Original network - CBS

Original release - July 12, 2017

One season, 13 episodes, 3 episodes are available

Ratings

IMDb 6.8/10

Rotten Tomatoes 56%

Trailer

Resume

I love movies and shows about the future of our planet. I can not say that I really liked the TV series. It is too fast, it seems that we are shown a cadre cutting. But I'm very interested in how humanity will be saved. I'm ready to enjoy interesting twists and turns of the plot but I'm afraid the show will be closed soon because...

Characters are absolutely standard. People are either good or evil. A lot of pathos, a lot of non-original moments...But I as I said, I'll be watching it to find out how people'll survive. I can not advise you this show, because it has a lot of negative moments, but if you are interested in destruction theme, you can't miss "Salvation".


3. MIDNIGHT, TEXAS


Image source

Information and Plot

The medium hides from persecution. The ghost of his grandmother tells him to hide in the city Midnight, Texas - a refuge for people with strange abilities.

Original network - NBC

Original release - July 24, 2017

One season, 9 episodes, 1 episode is available

Ratings

IMDb 8.1/10

Rotten Tomatoes 53%

Trailer

Resume

Well, well, well. We have already seen TV series about the supernatural, but now it is played in a new way. I guess we'll see lots of unusual creatures. There are mysticism, detective fiction, drama and a talking cat connected in "Midnight, Texas". I liked the first episode. Special effects are not very good, but the atmosphere of the city, a good acting game, an interesting plot make me watch it.

And it's much better than "The Vampire Diaries" because there's no teenagers in "Midnight, Texas")))).


The next TV series is not a novelty. The released date was in February 2017. When I watched it first time, I did not like it. But yesterday I watched the whole season at a time.

4. BELLEVUE


Image source

Information and Plot

Small town in Canada. The transgender guy disappears. He is the star of the school hockey team. The whole city starts to look for him. The detective sees in his disappearance the similarity with the case of twenty years ago.

Original network - CBC Television

Original release - February 20 – April 10, 2017

One season, 8 episodes

Ratings

IMDb 6.5/10

Rotten Tomatoes -

Trailer

Resume

The TV series is very similar to "The Killing". Pressing dark atmosphere of the city, every citizen hides a secret, the investigation all the time leads to a new suspect.
Annie Ryder (a detective) has issues, she is totally fixated on the investigation. The highlight of the TV series is Quest component. Someone leaves notes for the detective and thanks to them she can solve this case.

The plot is constantly kept in suspense. Every time you are amazed at the new secrets, you can not guess the criminal.

"Bellevue" is not as good as "The Killing", but if you prefer such stories, I guess you'll like "Bellevue".


Thank you for watching my post! Share your opinion in the comments!


Image source

Sort:  

Salvation is the best!

ahaha, glad you liked it! it's interesting enough)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67