Finding out a movie you always loved was hated by the critics

in #movies7 years ago

Have you ever had that movie that you watched and loved as a child but then later found that it got thrown under the bus by the critics of it's time? Personally, I have two in mind


Jackie Chan's "Around the World in 80 Days"


It was immensely enjoyable for me. I was stuck in an airplane as a kid once and I would have died of impatience and boredom had it not been for Jackie Chan. It was funny enough to make me laugh. It had recognizable stars I liked. I liked everything about Jackie Chan's bad english. His kung-fu. I liked the hot blonde chick with the cute accent. And I just liked the wacky steam-punk-y old-timey vibe.

Anyways I recently decided to wiki the film, and turns out...it was blasted by critics and viewers, it almost feels like I'm the only one in the world who enjoyed it. Admittedly I saw it when I was relatively young, and in an airplane. Still. Jackie Chan! In a rather creative setting! Comedy! Old-timey setting! Schwarzeneggar's last film before ascending to the position of Governor! NO CHRIS TUCKER!!!! What's not to love? No Chris Tucker!


Western Godzilla


Other than that, there's also the western Godzilla. I remember watching it with my mother when I was very young and I really really liked it. Why? Because I was a kid, and it had a really big dinosaur.



Don't forget to upvote if you liked it.
Or flag if you hated it.
Follow me at @taimur
And leave a comment to let me know what you think.


Sort:  

I also loved the jackie chan movie you mentioned and was surprised when I saw its rating
Will upvote
@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @mariey. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @taimur to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I EXPECT that movies I like will be hated by critics.
I'd be surprised otherwise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20