1001 movies before I die: Within our Gates (Review)

in #movies7 years ago

 If you saw my post about thee book "1001 movies you must see before you die". You'll know that I am atempting to watch all 1001 movies. This is my review of Within our Gates (movie #8)


Within our Gates

In my opinion this movie along with other, is only in this book becuase of their historic value. The're not in here because they are necessarily good movies. Not saying their bad, but they're not in here because of how good they are.

This movie is only here because it's the oldest surviving movie made by an african american. The same would go for  La souriante Madame Beudet which I review earlier. That movie is only in this book because it is one of the fist movies on feminism.

I'm not sying that these movies don't deserve to be in this book because they do. What I am saying though is that these movies are only here becuase they where the first of something. Had Within our Gates been the 14th movie to be made by a person of color, I don't think it would have made it into this book.

Score: 5/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32