1001 movies before I die: The Adventures of Price Achmed (Review)

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

If you saw my post about thee book "1001 movies you must see before you die". You'll know that I am attempting to watch all 1001 movies. This is my review of The Adventures of Price Achmed (movie #30)

The Adventures of Price Achmed

This movie follows Prince Achmed on a journey to lands far away as he meets a sorcerer and witch Aladdin and a beautiful woman.

This movie is oldest surviving animated feature film and it really shows that it's in the early stages of animation. That's not to say that it's bad by any means but by it's simplistic look. The characters are just silhouettes so for the most part there is no detail to the characters outside of their edges, as you get up close to a character do do see some facial features but that those shots doesn't happen very often.

Note that the only version I could get hold of was a restoration where they had a voice over for everything that happened. Now i'm sure this made the movie a lot better for me but I would have still found it entertaining to watch had it not been there. That being said I do think I would have had a much harder time understanding what was going on. 

This movie consisted of many acts and each one was just as good. Each act worked excellent for the overall story. After every acts Achmed had to deal with a different problem to get back his love and to destroy the sorcerer. The way this movie is animated (and I understand why) gives it a unique look unlike anything i've ever seen. 

Score: 7/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95