1001 movies before I die: Greed (Review)

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

If you saw my post about thee book "1001 movies you must see before you die". You'll know that I am attempting to watch all 1001 movies. This is my review of Greed (movie #23)

Greed 

Some movies just don't have the same quality they once had. The best version of this movie that I could find was terrible quality (in terms of resolution) and the music was also quite bad. I've found that with some of these silent movies the music isn't as good as it could be. That was one of my biggest problems with Nosferatu. Obviously there are many different versions of these silent films and all of them have different music but i've been unfortunate enough to find the bad ones, unless all the versions are bad I guess.

That being said I didn't find much enjoyment out of this movie. A big part of that was the quality which I mentioned but that's not to say that it would have been a masterpiece had it been shot with the same quality of let's say Sunrise. It would have been better but it would most likely just about have saved it.

In the book they talked about a 9 hour version of this film that was lost and I'm not quite sure how they could make a story about a greedy man who wins a fortune on the lottery and ruins the lives of 3 others. At roughly 2 hours the story didn't work for me so I'm questioning how that would have worked out.

Score: 5/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65