You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Movie Brainstorm on Forests and Water - inspired by a road trip through Portugal

in #movies6 years ago

"Titanic (just kidding)" lol, I agree. XD

I watched The Swimmer a while back. At first it seems kind of cheesy and you're like, is this just about Burt Lancaster's body? and then as it moves on you're like, wait... whaaaat?

I think the first movie that comes to mind when I think of forests is The New World. For water, it's Poseidon... terrible movie but for some reason I was thinking about it the other day.

Sort:  

Burt Lancaster was apparently an acrobat for quite a while and it's clear in the Swimmer that - even at 50 + years of age - he doesn't mind showing off his body. I didn't really care about that though. It was the story that drew me in from start to finish. And, be honest, it would have been kind of a joke, if he had been wearing a wetsuit throughout the film, don't you think ;>)

I can see why you think of The New World although I must say that it hasn't made such an impact on me as it seems to have on a lot of people. I prefer Malick's Badlands and Days of Heaven.

Poseidon makes me think of the 1970s The Poseidon Adventure which is pretty fun.

Yeah, I can see what you mean. :)

My sister and a friend of hers spent 2 years on a ship going around Asia. They both loved The New World. My sister said when she watched it, it made her cry--she loved it so much because it reminded her of America. When I watched it, I didn't feel much of a connection either, and in fact I felt that some scenes were a little insulting to Native Americans, but I can see what she meant. :)

I do like Days of Heaven. It's so visually beautiful, and the narration is so simple and pure. I love that line, "Well, you saw what happened: she loves the farmer." :)

Thanks for sharing that story. Now I really feel like rewatching Days of Heaven :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69