You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Movie Brainstorm on Forests and Water - inspired by a road trip through Portugal

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Your post brings back memories of blair witch project for me, I think I wanna watch that again after like a decade or so now ;)
Miss the creepy woods aspect. Never liked the Misery movie, the book is so much better in my opinion, but I am an old King fan and apart from the green mile, the mist and shawshank redemption most of the movie adaptations are not my thing.

Good to see you come back to your passion, I feel very similarly - writing about all kinds of things and doing all sorts of stuff while I am actually missing to write what is really dear to my heart. But it requires so much precursor that the detours are warranted.

Guess we want to make well-rounded blogs ;)
Much love to you down there dude <3

Sort:  

You should definitely give the BWP a rewatch and I feel like doing the same. I wonder what kind of impact it has on us nowadays. I remember watching it the first time - about a decade and a half ago - home alone, in the dark. At a certain point, the candles that I had put on for extra atmosphere - blew out. I don't remember there being any open windows. It was kind of freaky but it made me like the movie even more.

I read most of Stephen King's books - as a young teen - before I even started watching his movies. I myself love the movie Misery and think many adaptations of his books are actually an improvement on the books if you can say that at all, it being different media.

The fact that King adapted the Shining himself - not being happy with what Kubrick - one of the best filmmakers ever - did with it, still makes me laugh. He is a pretty good writer but a mediocre director. I didn't like The Mist too much. Apart from the atmosphere at the start, it mainly annoyed me and the octopus like creature made me cringe.

Yeah, we should never drift too far from our passions and I guess it's healthy - and probably quite natural - to return to them anyway.

Much love back to you my friend! :>)

Still waiting for the low budget movie portation of "the long walk" - that ought to be interesting. I think Darabont is the director who got the rights.

Damn I just saw he lost the rights... Hope that Hollywood won't fuck it up purposefully like most other things I have seen come out of there in the last years. But I guess I am a hardliner in that way.^^

Never heard of 'the long walk'. It reminds me of the (music) video that I made for you in an inspired moment and of your song :>)

I had a talk yesterday with @inuke who told me about being disappointed in the movie adaptation of the comic/ manga Bleach. He was very disappointed in it.

Eventually, I ended up telling him that disappointment always comes from expectations. Being disappointed in something (whether it's an adaptation from a book or anything else), just means that we expect too much. It's the Ego that wants to see things work out in a way that fits us. Every reader, viewer, etc has its own expectations. A filmmaker, writer or any artist can't please us all.

Anyhow, I totally get what you say here. I can talk in the same way but I'm really trying to become an improved version of myself in any way possible.

Have a great day my friend! :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41