MY WEEKEND WITH GEMINI

in #movies6 years ago

t0npq5ai0a.png
SOURCE

While others might be sad that the weekend is over, I am super happy. It was a long boring weekend for me. For the 72hrs of the weekend I probably slept for 68hrs, not at a stretch but on and off, I wake up, eat and go back to sleep. The last time I slept like this was when I had chronic depression, but in this case I was just lonely. Yeah, I'm a loner, while others might hang out when they are lonely, I sleep. I'm a loner even in my loneliness, lol. Besides even if I wanted to hang out, the bear market is not exactly making it easy for me to go to the places I would love to go..

So my elder brother and his wife lightened up my weekend with a surprise visit. After they left, I decide to try out the movies on box office. I really don't like box office because it makes me pay for movies with little or no standards. They rarely have A list movies. But GEMINI caught my attention, I guess it's because of my strong belief in Zodiac and Gemini is a zodiac sign. I had this thought at the back of mind that it will be a paranormal/supernatural and mystery movie, which is my favorite genre in movies. And because I love eating something while watching a movie, I got my cake and a glass of milk ready to see abracadabra.

It wasn't abracadabra after all, instead, it is a Crime and Investigation movie, not bad all, after all Investigation is a Mystery waiting to be unlocked. I liked the challenge..

Who killed Heather?
blknsw6emm.png
SOURCE

That's the question that will be on your mind for the 90 mins of the movie. Heather (Zoe Kravitz) is a star actress that everyone wanted to kill. The movie made that point clear to us from the beginning. First the movie started with her angry Ex calling her Assistant Jill(Lola Kirke) and he threatened to kill Heather. And in the next scene, her director was angry with Heather for turning down a movie he spent 5 years to work on, angry enough to kill her or maybe not.. And her protective assistant and bestie, who could be nursing feelings for her (though it wasn't really clear if there was feelings).. Or an obsessive fan that have a striking resemblance with Heather. So after partying all night, Jill sleeps over at Heather's place, she wakes up early to attend her personal business only to come back and find Heather's dead body. The police and the detective (John Cho, one of my favourite Asian actors) thinks Jill killed her.

The audience knows it's not Jill, but in a murder story, everyone is a suspect and in Mystery story the tables can turn really quickly. So Jill takes us along while trying to solve the puzzle of the murder, she needs it to clear her name. The movie explores the complex relationship between the starlet and her assistant. I was also awed with the lighting, the graphics and the scenery of the movie. It was absolutely beautiful with Neon lights that could take your breath away. The Director, Aaron Katz sure knows how to decorate even the worst of movies.

But at the end nothing made sense, I kept asking myself Is that it?. I felt like I just watched the draft of the movie. The last 4 mins of the movie was used to explain a scenario that makes absolutely no sense. Apart from having so many holes, the plot is a total failure of what could have been one hell of a mystery movie. It could have been better but it wasn't well developed. The only thing that I find impressive are the technicalities but the plot and it's twist is disappointing. If I state my disappontments any further, I will end up giving spoilers but I don't want to. The movie could be a great movie if you simply want to be entertained. But if you are looking for loopholes like myself, you will find many. At the end we are left to believe that the mystery has been solved while making us feel like there is more. I wonder, could this be a draft or is it really the movie?

You can watch Gemini on Box office or you can simply download it.

Thanks for reading..

zmsfx47icu.png
It's the one and only @nmalove

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

nice movie post very interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79