R.L.Stine and his world of “Goosebumps” - Review

in #movies7 years ago

“Goosebumps” book series were my teenage OBSESSION!

stine.jpg

As soon as I got my hands on the new book of the series I locked myself in the room and practically swallowed page after page before I let myself out anywhere else. Even when my mom knocked on the door just to let me know that the dinner was ready I acted like a freak and may have uttered some unintelligible words which, of course, as a grown-up I regret immensely.

goosebumps.jpg

When I’m saying “Goosebumps” I mean all the books that were written by R.L.Stine that were in fact released as a part of other similar series for young and older teens such as “Give yourself Goosebumps”, “Fear Street”, “New Fear Street”, “Cheerleaders”, “Fear Street Seniors” and so on.

goose.jpg

When I discovered these series I was already around 14 years old and therefore I was more interested in the books for older teens. Although I’ve read a few books of the earliest “Goosebumps” the plot didn’t seem menacing at all and it was just a fun reading without any blood chilling moments.

I know that the series were very popular in USA. The television adaptation of 1995-1998s say as much! The episodes were shot in the best spirit of the books.

goosebumps2.jpg

Moreover they’re still standing strong after all these years. Only recently we’ve had a film adaptation under the same name based on the series. It starred Jack Black and Dylan Minnette (now very well-known after his work in the hit tv-series “13 reasons why”) in the lead cast.

Goosebumps still.jpg

It has EVERYTHING! And I truly mean it: all the beasts and creatures our minds could have ever imagined, whether they are mummies, werewolves, vampires, evil garden gnomes, Big Foot or ghosts.

la-ca-mn-goosebumps-20150809.jpg

The plot is interesting by the fact that the film doesn’t follow any of the original stories of the series but toys with the idea how these particular stories have been written, giving us another supernatural view, that in a way manages to collect and tribute all of the books in the first series.
I really liked Jack Black playing the role of R.L.Stine. This image was on point and undoubtedly suited the actor.

goosebumps-black.jpg

Despite all the credit that the “Goosebumps” for young teens may have gotten, deservedly I have to add, my heart fell in love with the series for older teens, precisely everything concerning the Fear Street and Shadyside’s high school. They included “Fear Street”, “New Fear Street”, “Fear Street Super Chiller”, “Cheerleaders”, “The Fear Street Saga Trilogy”, “99 Fear Street: The House of Evil”, “Cataluna Chronicles”, “Fear Park”, “Fear Street Sagas”, “Fear Street Seniors”, “Fear Street Nights”.

Seriously, I think I can go on forever! I may have still left out one or two series.

goose images.jpg

My favorite amongst the above mentioned were “The Fear Street Saga Trilogy”, “Cataluna Chronicles” and “Fear Street Sagas”. Basically the books from these series lead us through the history of how the supernatural and evil came to exist on Fear Street.
I like the fact that characters do the unpredictable, blindsiding us at the crucial points. The constant suspense accompanies the readers throughout the whole book. Subconsciously the reader tries to find logic and motives for the killings that are happening and this makes it even more exciting.

rl-stine-fear-street.jpg

I have to say that sometimes it gets pretty harsh and even sick at places, and for those who’s quite sensitive and thin-skinned I’d advise to remember that it’s only a fiction and nothing of it is real. I want to warn you that after reading loads and tons of such literature you may never look at your friends and relatives with the same eyes. There’s an actual possibility of losing the touch with reality, truly believing that someone around you is there to stab you in the back. If you’re that susceptible then just take it slow and maybe it’s even better not to indulge yourselves into this abusive world.

Anyhow, you’ve been WARNED!

There’s another advantage to these books. There are so many of them and I’ve read almost all of them. Still this volume mixes up everything in my mind into one big mess and I find that in time I forget what happened in the book. It makes for a perfect excuse to read it again!
Deep down I believe that the Fear Street series would make a perfect TV appearance. Hopefully someday we’ll see them on TV.

I’m sure most of you read some of these books. Please, share with me what your favorite books by R.L.Stine were. If you don’t remember the title – I’ve forgotten most of them myself, just tell me a little about the plot.

As always thank you for staying with me until the end of the post and I wish you more good books and movies!

Please, check out one of my other reviews by the link below.



​"Legend of the Blood Countess Bathory in screen adaptations - Review"

Once having heard this urban legend about a noblewoman that loved to bathe herself in blood of virgins she’d killed to keep herself young, you would never forget it. Who knows, you may even lose your sleep for a while.
@nameislv



Sort:  

Upvoted and followed :)

I just loved these and the "Point Horror" books as well. And "Are you Afraid of the Dark" on TV. Probably why I have such a horror film obsession now. Great pics!

I was crazy about "Are you afraid of the Dark?" too. So much good memories

Nice post... just found your post. Upvoted.....follow me @empres-m for entertainment,gossip,advice,news and inspiration😘.

Yes!! I used to love goosebumps as a kid!

unforgettable experience, is it not?

I didn't know there's a television adaptation. I want to watch it). Great review as usual. I've enjoyed reading it

Thank you! You're my regular reader))

About favorite book.....I remember Fear Street books, you gave me...But after this post I must read “Goosebumps” to express my opinion))))

Great books keep sharing man :)

Thank you! I'll do my best

Goosebumps was my first introduction to Horror. Then came Fear Street. Followed by a lifelong fascination with the genre. Thanks for the post!

A little bit of nostalgia)) thank you

So much nostalgia seeing this post. Fear street was my favourite.

Exactly!! When my mom first bought one of the books for me, i was mad because i wasn't interested in reading. It's safe to say after I read one of the books, I started using my allowence to buy as many books as possible

I remember reading the goosebumps books in elementary. when the tv series came out in the 90's, my brother and I would watch them over and over non stop.

it was a great tv-show)

yes one of my childhood favorites. Goosebumps and Nickelodeon's are you afraid of the dark. LOL good memories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68