King Arthur: Legend of the Sword – Review

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

"King Arthur: Legend of the Sword" (further referred to as “KA”) is a film of 2017 directed by Guy Ritchie, as well as partially written by him along with other writers. The cast consisted of such names as Charlie Hunnam, Jude Law, Eric Bana, Àstrid Bergès-Frisbey and a few actors Guy Ritchie likes to involve in his other projects.

I’ve seen the film on IMAX 3D screen and I must say that it looked fantastic, I really enjoyed the show! It’s a great mix of action, fantasy and mystical elements. Well, you’d expect nothing less of Guy Ritchie, although fantasy direction is kind of a new for him, so I was slightly worried about that side of the story. But my worries evaporated with the first minutes of the picture.

Before going I’ve heard a lot of critics trashed the movie, naming it as the worst project Guy Ritchie taken over so far. They’re criticizing the director for exploiting the same means and tools of telling the story as in his other films like “Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels”, “The Man of U.N.C.L.E” or “Sherlock Holmes” and apparently it makes “King Arthur” so “unoriginal”. You know these scenes when a person is recounting his side of the story and then the actions of his story are happening simultaneously as the person’s story progresses. Guy Ritchie uses that move in most of his movies.

I completely disagree with the critics’ negative regards, because those tools and means are exactly what differs Ritchie’s movies from all other directors. We can refer to them as his “signature move in the plot” and it makes the film look even more fluid and dynamic than the film already is. The trick is that even if I didn’t know that it was Guy Ritchie’s film before watching the “KA” I would know instantly that it is his product as soon as I got to the part of this “simultaneous story-telling/happening” part. It’s like Christopher Nolan’s “Deception” or “Interstellar” that I can refer to as “layered cakes” because of the complicated but enticing plots. I would recognize his works just by complexity that’s been applied.

For those who didn’t see the movie yet, I’ll uncover a little bit of the story-line. In general the major layout remains the same as in Arthurian legends; there’s a sword in the stone that only a true king may pull out. That’s when Arthur comes along and to everyone’s dismay does just that. That’s when other disasters follow and he must withstand them to prove his rights for the throne.

I got to add that creators didn’t set out to retell the legends as they were originally. They changed a lot of things but they did it with style and reasonable boldness!

The cast performed their job to the letter. I believed them 100%, it did feel like they lived in that era. I think Jude Law mastered the role of the royal after his experience in “The Young Pope” TV-series.

Charlie Hunnam is a good choice for Arthur’s part. His self-assuredness and arrogance invested in Arthur’s character as well as self-irony made him look more human and real.

I have to say that I was so relieved when they didn’t go for any romance course because it would have spoiled the whole plot and the film would have gotten so derailed from the main point. Sometimes directors decide to incorporate romantic line into the story to attract more audience and sometimes it works. But considering the volume of the events that were supposed to unwind in “KA”, there was just no time for the romance, and displaying it so abruptly and curtly would have made the film incoherent.
There were a few scenes where Arthur sort off hit on female Mage but those were only jokes and they served to lighten the mood.

Script is flawless to me, because I enjoyed every dialogue and nothing seemed out of place. The ironic and sarcastic way of speech was just what was needed for the dark story to be delivered so as to balance the spirit and atmosphere of the film.
There was only one scene that I have questions about, precisely the purpose of it. It was that with a giant snake. I don’t question whether it should be in the movie, I simply don’t get the meaning… Might be my over-thinking only, of course. If you’ve already seen the movie and you understand what I’m talking about, then please, let me know your thoughts on this in the comments below. If you’re still yet to see the movie then you’ll know once you get to that part and then you could also explain that part to me. Thank you in advance!

The last but not the least what I want to draw your attention to is the MUSIC! It’s everywhere in the “KA” and it’s everything! I fell in love with it! The film wouldn’t have succeeded even in half of what it did without perfect music background. It sets just the right vibes and accompanies you through the story without fail.

Just listen to this:

Or this:

It’s epic! I get shivers from hearing it numerous times! And I’m sure I’ll get them the next time I decide to listen to the soundtrack!

You’ve already gathered from my review that I really loved “King Arthur: Legend of the Sword” and it’s one of the films worth seeing more than once! If you haven’t seen it then I recommend you to watch it once it’s released on DVD (I think it was supposed to be out on August 8 this year!:)

Thank you for reading my review and I wish you more good movies!





Sort:  

I didn't like the movie((((

ok, thanks for reading the post anyway)

I would try and watch this movie

Great! Thank you for reading the post

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :]

Thanks a lot!

You liked this film way more than I did. But your points are well documented.

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Congratulations @nameislv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

je l'es pas encore vu a cause de mon temps mais j'aime l'acteur principal que jais déjà regarder dans la série sons of anarchie et j’espère que je vais aimer son film

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67