A Positively Addictive Website for Film Buffs!

in #movies7 years ago

Aside from Steemit...It is a very different sort of website.


Some of my followers might remember me doing a ton of film reviews which I plan to do more of now that I fell into the rabbit-hole of LetterBoxd. I am a bit of a film buff and this website is just magical.

LetterBoxd

https://letterboxd.com/

It is a website for tracking films you have seen, films you want to see, rating films, reviewing films, creating lists of films. It is social media meets film and it is wonderful. They currently only have an app for IOS but I have been going crazy trying to remember every film I have ever seen and add meaningful reviews.

This is what your profile looks like, or rather what mine looks like:


Here you can see the favorite films you selected, your recent activity, a little bar graph to see how you rate films. I personally seem to be too generous with the 5 stars and am working on being more objective and less sentimental with my ratings. You can see your followers, your watch-lists, and the lists you've created.

I have not created any lists yet but plan to make numbered lists for all the films I have seen each year from best to worst. This is what someone in a film buff group I am in does and is actually how I found out about this site just last night. Since finding it I have been non-stop adding, and reviewing the films I love. Being as I have a terrible memory and profoundly love film this site is perfect for me.

If there are any of other film buffs out there feel free to find me. My username is the same as here.



Get these badges I made here.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

Thank you @lauralemons

I just know the web for this movie, before I often watch movies that have been on the site online, but in two months, the site was blocked in our country. So, now can watch on the web you share. thanks.

You can't actually watch films on this site. :'( You just use it to track and review and rate as I explained in the blog. I am sure you can find a site where you can watch them though. Every time one is shut down a new one pops up. I would use reddit to find out. There are threads about that stuff.

I might have to give that a look. I am crazy for classics! Cool Hand Luke is my absolutely favorite movie of all time. I also love The Third Man and Twelve Angry Men. Thanks for the info. I'll look you up in there. Resteemed.

Congratulations @lauralemons! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is cool info to see reviews of movies. I am kind of particular. Don't want to waste my time on films that don't interest me. Plus when I watch ... thumbs up or down. Thanks.🐓🐓

After reading your post, I just checked my Letterboxd account to see I've been on there since March 2012.

I love Letterboxd. I love the way it looks. I love the way it works. I love how you can use it as much or as little as you want. It's far superior to IMDb, in my opinion.

I use it mainly to log my watched movies. Occasionaly I write some short reviews or just some observations.

What I really love doing thought is creating lists. Really obscure lists. And I've created a lot. It's really fun!

I'll have to check if I'm already following you but if not, I'll add you.

In case anyone else wants to follow me on Letterboxd:
https://letterboxd.com/MovieViewerMan/

After finding Laura's post and following her on here and Letterboxd, I'm sorry to learn via another Steemit user that she has died.

I was very much looking forward to her movie reviews and discussions. Sadly,that is not to be.

R.I.P. Laura.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87