Movie review Black Panther and Quiet Place. No spoilers I think. Read at your own risk.

in #movies6 years ago

Theaters

One of the Theaters is AMC and the other is Regal.
Normally, I am very biased to Regal theaters because there is one right by the house. Also, I met the contractor that remodeled all the Regal theaters and he did a wonderful job. Most Regal theaters in my area have the reclining chairs. I haven’t visited them all yet. These wide leader chairs make movie watching a delight. As a Regal Cardholder Member, not sure that’s how they refer to us, but every purchase at these theaters leads to points. Which leads to free popcorn and movies. Which if you don’t know, free movies and popcorn is my favorite combo.

AMC vs. Regal.

After visiting the AMC theater this past weekend, I realized they too have undergone some changes. The chairs were also reclined, were also leather, and were also wide. By these standards, I may have been won over to the AMC family. Plus, these chairs recline further back. However, the theater screen wasn’t leveled high enough. On the plus side, the rewards system was presented to their members is more user-friendly. With season promotions and a free gift on your birthday, I’m thinking I need to join. Regal has something similar depending on the movie that is out. I may have to dig a little further and become an AMC member.

Food.

Quality of food. Options are key here, especially with my twenty-two-day vegan challenge. Extra points are issued to any place that has an ice machine. These drinks hold a special place in my heart. AMC had more fried food options then Regal. Regal had more frozen icy flavors. Regal, offered beer and wine of terrible brands, but the options were there for you. AMC only had soda.

Price.

Price. If you didn’t know, cinema prices generally vary depending on the time and day of the week. Weekday, before noon, prices are the cheapest. Weekend afternoon prices are more expensive. This is true of AMC as well, but since I didn’t pay for my ticket they are equal in my eyes. I donate blood pretty regularly and receive free movie tickets to Regal theaters. Hence the loyalty, with AMC a friend purchased my ticket this time.

The movie

Black Panther storyline is more complex and visually beautiful. It’s the typical superhero movie that makes you want to conquer the world. First, you feel super inspired to learn a martial art, then the desire to become the best fighter, and suddenly you start to wonder if you're actually from a royal bloodline. Which is the only way you could be deemed king by some distant family heritage? It could happen. The music was excellent in my opinion and the acting wasn’t terrible.

Black Panther, however, was rich in the storyline. You fully understand the history, the culture, and their way of living. My issue with this movie was centered around the only good king is the current one. They stood by their rules only when it suited them. The people were unwilling to break the rules if it didn’t benefit the current king. Rules are rules and if we start making exceptions, it shouldn’t be just because they disagreed with the rightful king. This movie had a lot of hype surrounding it. Had it been a hidden gem I would have loved it. With all the noise, I felt it didn’t meet the expectations placed on it. Here too I wanted more. Maybe the supporting roles lacked. I would place this one as an excellent Netflix movie.

Quiet place was a suspenseful horror, I didn’t think it was horror. Mostly due to the fact that horror to me means demonic and there was no evil supernatural. There were just monsters. The story was interesting, but it left me wanting more. I wanted to understand more about how they learned to survive. More about the other families. Ultimately, the storyline lacked depth. The action scene left you on the edge of your seat. Lots of actions, which is a plus. Little to no horror in my opinion which is a major plus. When the story went south it all happened at once. I loved all the actors. The main character did an excellent job acting, directing, and writing. That’s a hard task to take on. I hope next time he focuses his energy on directing or acting.

Quiet place left me wanting more with the storyline. The longer I thought about the movie the more potholes became evident in it. The typical question of where did the monsters come from, how did they learn to survive, and how did they establish this way of living? Overall, I don’t consider it a horror movie because there wasn’t anything demonic about it. It made you jump in fear at the time and the suspense had you at the edge of your sit. Yet, overall I wanted more story, not more horror. The fact that it wasn’t scary is a plus in my eyes.Overall, I want to know more, I want to see more, and I hope they make it into a series. In my opinion, this movie falls under an excellent Netflix movie. I wouldn’t pay to see it.

Have you seen these movies? If you had, what are your thoughts? If you haven’t, what are your thoughts on seeing them?

sireh kubby draw up.jpg

Sort:  

and suddenly you start to wonder if you're actually from a royal bloodline.

i laughed out loud to this.

I loved the black panther movie, the promotions were so huge that people rushed in to go see the movie and paid as much as 4000 naira at the initial time the movie was showing.

I waited a little longer, when the price came down to 2500 naira, i went to watch it.

Overall, I loved the movie. It was made beautifully. A little over hyped but still a good one. One of my favorite scenes was at the edge of the cliff when the Tchalla and his challengers fought.

Nice, now I know I don't have to see Black Panther in the cinema...

Let me know what you think

I don't want even a chance of a spoiler xDD

Let me what you think when you watch it :)

I'm living that hardcore budget life lately so I haven't been able to go to any movies D: I wanted to see Black Panther and Ready Player One.

I just remembered that one of my friends offered me a movie pass recently. I'll watch Black Panther in the upcoming week and let you know what I think :3

I admit that I did not want to read for fear of spoilers I have not seen that movie yet, certainly those chairs look very comfortable, I would not want to get up from there

Which movie are you wanting to see?

avengers infinity war! i can't wait

Did you make popcorn in a bag like I suggested?

No I made them air pop it with out adding butter.

Oh nice. Good on ya.

Ready for experience in Brasil?

For what experience in Brazil?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81