Movie Trailer or Music Video? Either Way it is Awesome! What is Your Favorite?

in #movies7 years ago

I am really digging this new style of movie trailers. (Well new to me... I am kind of slow on the uptake.)



This font is clearly a shout out to He-Man

If there is anything I learned from the release of the first trailer for the next Star Wars movie, it is that the creation of movie trailers is a huge business. I realize that for many of you, my previous statement is the equivalent of exclaiming "water is wet"... but I honestly hadn't noticed. I was amazed to see that the new Star Wars trailer, which was released only 2 days ago, already has nearly 25 million views.

Getting 25 million people to choose to watch your commercial is no easy feat. (Unless it is Star Wars related. I'm pretty sure they could slap together still close up photos of the actors' shoes and 25 million geeks would check it out to see if they could glean any top secret info from the reflection seen in the patent leather boots).

But for any other movie, it is truly an art.

My absolute favorite phenomenon is creating trailers that feel more like a music video than a movie trailer. I'm not sure how long this has been happening, but I personally started to take notice after first seeing the trailer for Logan.

Whoever decided to pair Johnny Cash's version of "Hurt" by Nine Inch Nails with the beaten down images of Wolverine is an absolute genius. The mood created by that pairing was perfect. When the trailer ended, I said "Wow. That is powerful. I must see that!". Luckily the movie did not disappoint.



Well last week, Marvel did it again.

I have a twelve year old son so no matter what, I know I am going to see every PG-13 rated Marvel movie without exception. This includes the upcoming third installment of the Thor franchise. I have known for a while that I am going to see it... but I wasn't very excited. AlthoughI liked the first two Thor movies, I did not enjoy them as much as many of the other Marvel projects.

Thanks to the brilliant trailer for Thor: Ragnarok that was released last week, my level of excitement has sky rocketed.

Knowing that they already had the 12 year old crowd hooked, the creators of the newest trailer decided to set their sights on old people like me.



Not only did they use AWESOME 80s graphics and fonts, the trailer is basically a music video for one of my favorite Led Zeppelin songs of all time: The Immigrant Song.

Just as Johhny Cash's voice helped prepare me for an emotional and painful Wolverine movie, hearing Robert Plant's wail got me completely psyched for what should be an action packed and fun Thor movie. Whoever came up with this pairing deserves a HUGE raise. After watching it, I was so pumped that I could have run right through my door and straight to the theater!

The only problem is... Thor: Ragnarok does not open until November 3rd.

I'm going to have to find something to do with all of this pent up energy. I'm sure I'll figure something out.

Maybe I can start walking to work...



If I see the trailer a few more times, I may need to start looking for some car poolers.

I'm sure I am late to the party ( I always am when it comes to this stuff).

So what have I missed?

What are some other trailers that are more like cool music videos than ads for movies?

Image Links
1, 2

Sort:  

I'm enjoying the R rated Marvel movies too. I understand as a parent of a young child why you'd want to stick with PG-13. Yet you can also watch things for yourself.

Logan was well made and excellent, but it was definitely brutal. :)

Oh yeah I can't bring my son but I loved Logan and deadpool was one of my top ten movies of last year.

The trailer was merely a microcosm of what is happening to the Thor series. The previous two movies were more than a little directionless in theme and aesthetic.

They changed directions with Thor: Ragnarok, giving it a very definite aesthetic---that aesthetic being heavy metal cover art.

The music in the trailer is merely a nod toward that fact.

Agreed and so far I am happy with what I see. This is really taking me back to The 80s... in a good way.

Mad World from Donnie Darko

Oh that is a great combo!!!

My friend, to be honest I do not like to see movie trailers a lot. Because I like to surprise myself with movies. The advances of the films show too much and some uncertainty is lost.

What I do, is to look for the imdb scores. If the film has a score greater than 7 points, I see it. Or if she has many votes, I see her too. But I do not directly see the movie trail because I prefer to keep my mouth open when a movie is really good and I did not expect it.

If you allow me, I recommend a movie I saw recently. "Miss Sloane." Very good movie, but do not see it with your 12 year old son. Because I do not think he likes it and has some sex scenes. Cheers my friend

I understand 100%! I usually hate move previews. I have actually walked out of a theater during previews if I think it will ruin a movie for me. For some reason, these music video ones seem to not give away too much for me. Maybe the music takes away some of the need to give away every plot detail. I will have to check out miss sloane. Thanks!

My favorite is Cate Blanchet. Hold the hammer. :D

Can't go wrong with Marvel! , Thanks for the Post

I have really enjoyed their projects lately. Like the direction they are going.

No post about the new Star Wars trailer? ;)

I started one Friday but 5 people beat me to it lol.

I prefer the trailers from the 80s and 90s that are all done by the same voiceover guy going 'In a world where...One man, with one mission, will...One. Last. Time.

The next step is to go back through every music video ever and make entire movies around them all :)

I love the big voice "in a world" guy! The only thing I would add is "One. Last. Time... unless this movie makes a ton of money and then there will be One more. Last. Time."

Not quite music video, but meditative - Red Turtle animation movie from Ghibli Studio (not Miyadzaki though). Excellent for kids and parents - both categories see it differently

There are definitely some great movie trailers out there. They can excite the senses enough to make you want to view the movie.

I agree. I used to get upset that they gave too much away but these latest ones seem like just enough.

Oh I am sold! That animation looks so cool. I will need to check this out.

Ghibli Studio is awesooomee <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84