Venom (film): will anger fanbois but overall an entertaining film

in #movies5 years ago

This film all but completely ignores the Marvel canon and if you are the type of person that is going to be angered by that then I would suggest not watching it: Stick to the comic books and perhaps ignore the fact that this movie was ever made. One the other hand, if you like a mindless 90 minutes of entertainment (and I do,) go ahead and watch this.

43542720_1018785158321268_2392670252753223680_n.jpg
that says "Wen-nom (there is no "V" sound in Thai) and on the bottom it says "preung-nee" which means "tomorrow"

Now some things that will irritate fans of the comics is that Venom seems like a nice guy and is dead set on helping humanity and also screwing over his own people (I guess they aren't people so much as slimes, but you get the point.) They also went for a Deadpool type humor in Venom's internal dialogue and he really wants to help Eddie Brock (Tom Hardy,) especially with winning back his girlfriend - believe it or not.

As you would expect Eddie resists to very little avail the presence of Venom in his system at first and the story is that the Sybiotes (black slimes like Venom) can occupy any life form and bond with it, but some hosts are better matches than others and this is not really explained and to be honest it doesn't need to be, just accept it an move on.

As was expected in this film, a tremendous amount of CGI is used throughout and anyone who came into it expecting anything less has a strange grasp on reality. That doesn't mean it is bad, the CGI is done really well although you better tweak the brightness on your TV because the entire film is quite dark and at least on my 25 inch monitor, it was a bit difficult to see all that was going on especially during large-scale battles.

venom 2.png

You might have noticed that I skipped the plot in this write-up and that was intentional because the plot doesn't really matter any more than the "plot" in a Transformers movie matters. The movie is about the development of Venom and I am actually a bit disappointed in a few things that happened.

  1. They made him a "good guy" which is just bizarre
  2. Venom is entirely too powerful. I really can't imagine how any other superhero in the Marvel Universe could possibly stand a chance against him unless they know his one big weakness
  3. His big weakness: Venom doesn't really try to hide this information so once that information were to get out, anyone with a smartphone or speaker would be able to defeat him. It's not like finding kryptonite or something rare like that, it is sound-waves than really anyone could weaponize or simply come across by accident for the most part.

Don't get me wrong, this does not render the movie unwatchable, just a bit unrealistic but I suppose the fact that it is a super-hero movie with magical powers is already unrealistic and I should just chill out and enjoy, which I did after the first 30 minutes or so.

I don't really know how they will integrate this into other characters in the Marvel Universe but the movie made 700 million dollars over their budget and that means the will definitely find a way. Overall I say see this movie but I wouldn't go out of your way to make that happen. I waited a long time to see it and would say I was pleased but it isn't anything terribly epic.

6 / 10

Sort:  

I think the biggest problem with the film was the expectation that it generated previously, and the fact that they edited the film to make it acceptable to a wider audience.

Watched this a few weeks back! It's kinda fun to watch but really, I somehow think it doesn't make much sense lol

I really enjoyed the film, but didn't read the comic so I was unaware of the disparities that you mention. Good to know!

I feel like they do this a lot in movies vs comic, though. I'm referring to taking an un-redeemable character and making him kind of nice. My only explanation is that they think people won't be able to relate to the character if he is all bad. That's just my 2 cents!

your two cents are correct. They can't make a trilogy about a bad guy unless it takes 3 episodes to defeat him like Darth Vader or something. In order to include Venom in upcoming multiple hundreds of millions of dollars projects he needs to be one of the good guys.

the billionaire was too evil !! overly un-humanistic

Marvel is kind of beat creation of film. When i saw this film truely speaking i really love to watch this movie. This is kind of one of the best movie by marvel.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like this movie this is by no means the full deleted scene and has instead been edited so that fans are left wanting that little bit more Nevertheless it offers a pretty good look at the sinister symbiote being triggered by a car alarm much to the amazement of a young kid who can do nothing but gawk at Venom as the inky black monster makes short work

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I still don’t saw this production. I feel that I will be disappointed, I’m delay watching, but after what you wrote it may be finally the time to face "Venom”.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67