Clear and Present Danger (film): In the present time it is clearly boring

in #movies4 years ago

Perhaps I would have a different opinion had i seen this movie back when it first appeared in theaters in 1994 but somehow it managed to be not a part of my life until November 18th, 2019. Unfortunately, I can't really say that this film did much for me and it just seemed rather boring.

JamieR__ClearAndPresentDanger1.jpg
source

I suppose the message about the US government having tremendous overreach as far as their military intervention for private interests in foreign countries is concerned is a sound one and I applaud movies being made to that end. That is the underlying plot behind this film and it is extremely believable that this is something that the United States has done (and likely still does) especially in the 80's with various covert and sometimes "not so covert" ops in Central America.

I personally hate most aspects of government and this film does a very good job of adding fuel to the proverbial fire if you feel as I do. While this film is a work of fiction, the true stories are just as heinous that have taken place over the years in actual life (where are those films?)

That being said, this film is just not special anymore, and even the clear and present presence of Harrison Ford and one of my personal favorites Willem Dafoe, couldn't change that.

30074671_2.jpg
source

I'll give the cliff notes on the story since the movie is so old: A bunch of military badasses get sent down to Colombia in order to settle a personal score for the President of the United States under false pretenses. The Colombians they are attacking are not actually attached to any official USA directive and what these commandos are doing is actually illegal.

The soldiers are just doing their jobs and are not questioning the morality or the true objectives of their missions. Then at some point it is determined that they are to be left out to dry and abandoned in the field and the mission is to be erased from the records.


source

There are some good scenes and some of the action is great but sadly, this movie has not withstood the test of time, particularly during the action scenes that Harrison Ford is involved in (there aren't many.) The helicopter scenes that he is involved in at the end are embarrassingly poor and don't look even remotely real. I was alive in 1994 and perhaps everything looked this bad back then. I honestly don't remember and to be fair to the producers / directors / even Harrison Ford, it might not be their fault.


From the Youtube Movies official channel

It's based on a Tom Clancy novel so it should come as no surprise that there is a male protagonist who is reasonably high-ranking and discovers some sort of political corruption and works to save the day against said corruption. That is kind of what Tom does. I'm not saying it is bad story, I was just expecting it to be significantly more interesting than it was based on the fact that it was such a magnificently lauded film. I don't think Harrison Ford was noteworthy in this (especially in any fight scenes), I don't think the combat sequences were believable, nor do I think anything other than exactly what you expected to happen in this film... happened.

Therefore, it might just be time talking, or the fact that I have a very low patience threshold for predictable stories these days, but I gotta give this one a very unique thumbs down in that while I am sure it was wonderful in 1994, it just kinda sucks now.

One a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers" I give Clear and Present Danger an overall rating of....

skipitskipitgood.jpg

Consequently, if you are a fanboi of this film and last saw it in the 90's, I challenge you to rewatch it and see if I am wrong... it really hasn't (unlike Harrison himself) aged very well.

Sort:  

Yep it was decent 25 years ago but like most things very few films age well. Jack Ryan is basically the upgrade as also written by Tom Clancy. Have you watched the series The Looming Towers?

nope but i am writing it down now... well, that is if you are suggesting it is something worth watching.

Yes most definitely. True story on 9/11 and how the CIA and FBI screwed things up. Really good and also explains why the FBI was really pissed with the CIA.

sounds like something i would enjoy, thanks for the tip!

I think it is 3 or 4 episodes and if I am not mistaken Netflix has it. Jeff Daniels from Newsroom is in it plus a decent cast. Another one to watch if you haven't seen it already is the series with Russel Crowe playing the main guy from Fox News. The series is called The Loudest Voice.

Very good your post frends

I saw Patriot Games and I thought that was fantastic. I never got around to watching this one though. Clancy has always had the ability to go where a lot of other writers at the time didn't want to go. Where most books would have the hero stopping the nuclear bomb from going off, he actually let it happened. Stuff like that is what really makes him stand out to me. My wife and I have been enjoying the show on Amazon Prime with Jim from The Office as Jack Ryan.

hmmm, since i don't have Amazon Prime i did not know such a show existed. It must be strange having Jim play a serious role but he has been dabbling in that sort of role in films probably because he doesn't want to be typecast as "Jim" forever.

It is weird seeing him like that at first, but I think he ended up doing a really good job in the first season. Season 2 was just released at the beginning of November but we haven't started it yet. In the previews it looks like he has more action scenes which might be a little weird. We will see...

well he was in that film where the mutants that have taken over the planet had no eyes but super-sonic hearing and he did a good job in that. It was the only serious role i have ever seen him in though.

I didn't see that one but I think he directed it too. We need to find a way to get you access to Amazon Prime! :)

just tell me the names of the good shows. we all have our ways and while i don't like to advertise it, you know how to get stuff too i am sure.

Sneaky Pete is pretty good though we have kind of been hit or miss with season 2. Homecoming was pretty decent and I have heard The Man in the High Castle is fantastic but I haven't started watching it yet.

Nice review ✌️

Posted using Partiko Android



Hey @gooddream, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

I've got to agree with you, @gooddream, I watched Clear and Present Danger about ten years ago, and the whole time all I could think was, "How was Patriot Games so damn good, and this so damn awful, when Harrison Ford is playing the same character in both?"

Dull story, dull plot, dull action, just dull, dull, dull all around. Do Patriot Games, or Hunt for Red October, but this one belongs on the shelf.

you know, i have seen Hunt for Red Oct and Patriot Games but i remember nothing about either of them.

I wonder if people were disappointed with Clear and Present Danger when it was first released or if they felt the same way we did? It made bunch of money, that much I know.

Follow to @hrgame1 for reblogge your every post and thousands of following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98