Chaser: Shocking Korean film based on a real person

in #movies6 years ago

Now don't get carried away; the film is very very losely based on a real person but that isn't the point. This film follows in line with the characteristics that I have enjoyed about Korean cinema since I first started writing about it. That is; you don't know automatically what is going to happen and good guys don't always win as they typically do in most global films.

220px-The_Chaser_film_poster.jpg

I'm going to try really hard to not spoil anything but I will say this. The movie is yet again only in Korean language so you are going to need to read this one. If you can't read English fast enough to keep up I would imagine you might be a little lost, but you should still try.

It stars another one of my favorite Korean actors named Kim Yoon-seok playing the lead role of an ex cop who leads a less-than-virtuous life as a pimp of young prostitutes. He seems ruthless as the film starts, bossing the girls around and even calling on one of his girls who is sick to go do a job for him. He needs her to work because his other girls are missing, and he simply suspects that they have been "sold" or ran away to another pimp. I have no idea how this industry works but that is the story.

What he ends up discovering is that the disappearance of his girls is far more devious than them simply not enjoying the prozzie life anymore and he gets thrust into the middle of the life of a very complicated serial-killer and starts to show genuine empathy (which was not evident at the start of the film) as the story carries on.

If you follow my blog you may remember the movie "Bedevilled" starring Seo Young-hee - who is also in this film and is fantastic in her role.

Apparently, the rights to do a remake has been acquired by Warner Brothers for a mere $1 million USD. However, I believe these rights were purchased 10 years ago so i wouldn't hold your breath nor would I very much look forward to it seeing as how the remake of "Oldboy" was just bad.

I don't really care for this trailer but it is the only one i could find that was in English.


do they have to use the same guy for narration in every film trailer?

Sort:  

I'll look it up. I've been in love with Korean movies since I watched 'Boys over Flowers'

ahhh. I've heard of that one as well. I had forgotten it. Thanks for the reminder as I am writing it on my notebook with a pencil right now! That's now i roll!

I haven't really seen any korean movie but would look out for them now. Some series like Fargo and Game of Thrones have alot of good people dying

Fargo was excellent (and of course GOT).... I think both of those series are based on actual events also right? :P

Just has you rightly said Fargo is based on true event that happened in Minnesota in 2006 i guess while game of thrones is based on a book

one of the best action thriller movie. period.
i read somewhere awhile back that dicaprio and co wanted to do an american remake of this.
it didn't happen though.

if you haven't seen it. see it!

You see lately , I’ve resolved to the conclusion that , even if I don’t see all the movies you review. I enjoy the way you review them and that creates some imaginative scenes in my head . You movies review ability is 9/10 tmrating by me

I never seen any korean movie,but hope that i will see this movie.because i like those movie which is based on a real story or person.

If the remake of Infernal Affairs (The Departed) won all those Oscars then a re-make of this movie will surely clean up. Its one of those movies that just doesn't let up. At any given time there are at least three threads to the story, each of which keeps you on the edge of your seat. I actually had to stop it at one point so I could calm down a bit.

The acting by everyone involved is very believable and that makes it quite harrowing at points. I don't want to give away a single thing about the story but what I can say is that its an absolutely brilliant twist on a story that has been done many times before.

If anyone is going to see just one foreign film this year then let it be this one.

Look really amazing movie, i really like the story , sure i will watch it soon.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thank you for the post, I will try to download it.

Omg, just seen Oldboy yesterday, what's thriller?

I'm so much in love with it, I think I have to just get the list of every of the movie you have reviewed on your page.

Where do they get such a story line from? It isn't ordinary at all. That is my 2018 movie already..

I think i will have be waiting for your review before selecting films... Hahahhahaha

Thanks so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54